APA Citation Style (Old)

About Citing Websites

When citing a website, take note of the author, title, the publisher, publication date, and the date you accessed the site.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

In-text Citation - entry that appears in the body of your paper.

References - entry that appears at the end of your paper

Entry in an Online Reference Work (p. 348)

General Format

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase):

(Author Surname, Year)

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname, Year, page number [if available])

References:

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year; if not

known, put n.d.). Title of entry. In Editor First Initial.

Second Initial. Surname (Ed.), Title of reference work

(edition, Vol.#). URL

Example

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase):

(DeWitt, 2002)

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(DeWitt, 2002)

References:

DeWitt, R. (2002). Darwinism. In T. Zimmerman (Ed.), The encyclopedia

of evolution (Winter 2002 ed.). http://darwin.sarasota.edu/darwin/

Oxford English Dictionary Online (free version)

References:

Definition. (Date of publication). In Oxford English dictionary online (2nd.).

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/canary

Example

Canary. (2011). In Oxford English dictionary online (2nd.). Internet URL

Oxford English Dictionary Online (library subscription)

Definition. (Date of publication). In Oxford English dictionary online (2nd.). URL ezyproxy of library subscription

Example

Canary. (2011). In Oxford English dictionary online (2nd.).

http://www.oed.com.ezproxy.cotr.bc.ca/view/Entry/26904?rskey=3hUNfu&result=1#eid

When using the Oxford English Dictionary to which COTR Library subscribes, there is no permalink offered. Use the URL which will open to a window with an option to login to our databases. This would work for assignments in your courses here at COTR when submitted to your instructors.

Learn More

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University offers an online resource which can be used in some cases.  However, it does not include everything required for citing sources in one place.

The APA citation style does not cover Canadian government sources, and has only a limited section on American government resources.

Please refer to the staff at the Library Reference Desk for clarification when citing Canadian government sources.