Skip to Main Content College of the Rockies
← BACK TO LEARNING COMMONS PAGE
Learning Commons
CONTACT

Copyright at College of the Rockies for Faculty & Staff

Course Packs

Materials included in Course Packs/Collections may be acquired using the guidelines of the ACCC Fair Dealing Policy, which allows use of up to 10% of a copyright-protected work, Educational Use of the Internet Legislation, the Access Copyright College Premium Licence or a Creative Commons Licence. 

For published works covered by Access Copyright, you can create Course Collections.  Course collections are paper compilations of published works (such as paper course packs) and digital copies of published works that are emailed, linked or hyperlinked, posted, uploaded to or stored on a Secure Network as part of a course of study.

Use Access Copyright's Titles Search and Permissions Tool to search their extensive repertoire and confirm that the titles you wish to copy are covered for print and/or digital use.

You may copy up to 20% of an Access Copyright repertoire work or any of the below for a Course Collection and for certain library collection management purposes:

  • an entire page or article from a newspaper, magazine or journal,
  • a single short story, play, poem, essay or article from a published work that contains other published works.
  • an entire entry or article from a reference work that is a repertoire work.
  • an entire reproduction of an artistic work (including any drawing, painting, print, photograph or other reproduction of a work of sculpture, architectural work or work of artistic craftsmanship) from a repertoire work that contains other published works, 
  • an entire chapter from a book that is a repertoire work, provided that it is no more than twenty-five percent (25%) of that repertoire work.

If using an article from a licensed database, consult the Permissions on the Library's A-Z Database list to make sure the database license covers use in course packs. If using an excerpt from any other licensed electronic resource, check with Sue Morin x.3407 for permissions.

Before having the copies made, each course pack must be cleared through Sue Morin x.3407 in the Library. Please see procedures document.