Copyright at College of the Rockies for Faculty & Staff

Access Copyright is a collective voice of creators and publishers in Canada. A non-profit, national organization, they represent tens of thousands of Canadian writers, visual artists and publishers, and their works. Through agreements with sister organizations around the world they also represent the works of hundreds of thousands of foreign creators and publishers.

Access Copyright licenses the copying of this rich repertoire of content to educational institutions, businesses, governments and others.

--- from the Access Copyright site

The College currently operates under the Access Copyright College Premium Licence Agreement and its Permissions.

Who can copy?
Students, library users, faculty and staff members of College of the Rockies may copy portions of published works in Access Copyright's repertoire.

How much can be copied?
There is no limit on the number of copies that can be made under the premium licence for any purpose, including course collections, as long as the following limits are not exceeded:
(i)    copying up to twenty per cent (20%) of a repertoire work; and
(ii)    copying a repertoire work that is:

1. an entire page or article from a newspaper, magazine or journal,
2. a single short story, play, poem, essay or article from a published work that contains other published works.
3. an entire entry or article from a reference work that is a repertoire work.
4. an entire reproduction of an artistic work (including any drawing, painting, print, photograph or other reproduction of a work of sculpture, architectural work or work of artistic craftsmanship) from a repertoire work that contains other published works, 
5. an entire chapter from a book that is a repertoire work, provided that it is no more than twenty-five percent (25%) of that repertoire work.

Can limits be exceeded?
Yes, although additional payment may be required. See Sue Morin in the Library to arrange a transactional licence through Access Copyright.

Permitted uses
Under the premium licence, users may:

• photocopy, fax, scan and print
• store copies, such as on a hard drive, USB stick or on a secure network
• transmit by email, upload or post copies on a secure network including course management systems
• project and display copies, such as on overheads, on LCD or plasma monitors, or interactive whiteboards
• make copies for the purposes of interlibrary loan, creating alternate format copies and managing library collections
• create paper and digital course packs (called "course collections" under the premium licence)  If using an article from a licensed database, consult the Permissions on the Library's A-Z Database list to make sure the database licence covers your use.

Exceptions
The premium licence permits use of published works subject to the following exceptions:

• works in Access Copyright's repertoire that are not licensed for print or digital use
• works published in a country that does not have a reciprocal agreement with Access Copyright
• works with a notice indicating that the work cannot be copied under a collective licence
• business cases that are available for purchase
• musical works which are not considered ‘published works’ under the licence

Use Access Copyright's Titles Search and Permissions Tool to search their extensive repertoire and confirm that the titles you wish to copy are covered for print and/or digital use.