Research Guides: Hospitality Management: Videos

Streaming Videos

Introduction to Hospitality video The hardest part about working in the hospitality field may simply be deciding on which of its many popular career paths to pursue! This video will help interested students make an informed choice by describing commercial and noncommercial hospitality establishments and key hospitality departments such as management, food and beverage, gaming and entertainment, customer service, security, housekeeping, maintenance, and more. In addition, hospitality professionals from the Westin, the Melbourne, and Club Med Lindeman Island talk about what makes working in hospitality one of the best experiences on offer today. (25 minutes)
Careers in Hospitality: Service and Adventure What goes on behind the scenes at a restaurant, a hotel, a convention center, a resort, or a cruise ship? Lots of excitement and lots of interesting jobs! In this video, people in the hospitality management field talk about what it’s like to work in food and beverage management, hotel management, and convention and event management. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (21 minutes)
Coaching in Hospitality The transient nature of the hospitality industry means that employees are often inexperienced, lacking awareness of the basic skills and good customer service techniques that add up to a smooth-running facility. This program uses input from training experts to define the role of the hospitality coach as well as the key factors for effective coaching in this industry. The video lists the main concepts that should be conveyed to staff, and how to determine if additional training is needed. Addressing ways to encourage workers, it also reviews different forms of coaching and the monitoring and support of ongoing employee development. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online. (19 minutes)
Health, Safety, and Security in the Hospitality Industry Being a part of the hospitality industry can be a rewarding experience, but it can also mean working in an environment that poses safety hazards to staff and patrons alike. This program reviews health, safety, and security concerns unique to the hospitality industry, explains how to handle them, and offers ways to reduce the likelihood of them occurring at all. Emphasizing the importance of following workplace procedures, the video advises viewers on the types of accidents they are most likely to encounter, and makes the point that everyone, from the newest employee up to the site manager, is responsible for maintaining a safe workplace. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online. (17 minutes)
Hospitality & Tourism The hospitality and tourism cluster is all about providing food, lodging, and entertainment to people when they’re away from home. This program provides an inside track on what the work is like by talking to a travel agent, hotel manager, baker, and waitress. Correlates to the National Standards for Life Work. A Cambridge Educational Production. Part of the series The Complete Career Clusters. (22 minutes)
Introduction to Hospitality Commercial and non-commercial establishments cater to a diverse population. Kitchens must meet the needs of guests with different palates and dietary restrictions.
J.W. Marriott: Host to the World This episode of Biography spotlights John Willard Marriott, an entrepreneur who parlayed a root beer stand into a multi-billion-dollar hospitality-related corporation. Distributed by A&E Television Networks. (44 minutes) Distributed by A&E Television Networks.
Manual Handling for Hospitality Whether it is making beds, stocking the bar, or clearing tables, manual handling plays a major part in getting the job done in the hospitality sector. It is little wonder that manual handling injuries account for more than half of all injuries in hospitality. Now you can protect your organization and your workers from manual handling injuries with this program. Viewers will learn: • The specific laws of managing hazardous manual handling tasks • How to assess and control the risks • How and why we should lift and carry safely • How and why we should store goods safely • An easy to follow guide to the physiology of the back
Quality Customer Service in the Hospitality Industry Whether or not the customer is always right, customer satisfaction is a crucial part of achieving success in the hospitality industry. This program provides several strategies to improve customer service, outlines the factors that may influence customer needs, and describes the traits and behaviors that are most important to cultivate when working with the public. The video also discusses servicescape, SERVQUAL, and service recovery; the benefits of good customer service in terms of both return business and employee morale; and the role of management in maintaining high customer service standards. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online. (19 minutes)
Teamwork in Hospitality There are many reasons why the quality of restaurant and hotel service varies—but they generally boil down to one factor: teamwork. This program helps students who are aiming for the hospitality industry to understand why teamwork is vital to the success of an establishment, what its core principles are, and how it can be put into practice and strengthened. The video examines team structure, including both front-of-house and back-of house; basic teamwork concepts, including collaboration, morale, incentives, understanding individual roles, and identifying common goals; the importance of staff meetings and “handover” discussions; verbal, visual, and written communication techniques; and ways to solicit feedback from customers and staff. (25 minutes)
Working Front of House As the public face of the tourism and hospitality industries, front-of-house employees have the responsibility of providing the best possible service. This program interviews a number of people who work in the hospitality industry and deal frequently with the public. Highlighted occupations include receptionist, bellhop, duty manager, and food-and-beverage staff. Each section illustrates and describes the skills necessary for each job and the tasks commonly expected to be carried out. The video focuses on developing a service-oriented attitude, good communication skills, professional grooming standards, and other important aspects. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (22 minutes)

Streaming Video Collections

Criterion-on-Demand (Multidisciplinary) This collection has more than 2,600 major motion pictures (largely Hollywood films) and more than 100 documentary features. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
Curio.ca (Multidisciplinary) This collection gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos (Business) In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trades Videos This collection of online videos includes a variety of subjects related to Technology and Trades, including: Agriculture, Automotive Technology, Building & Technical Trades, Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Technical Communication.
NFB (Multidisciplinary) Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
TVO Today As an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Education and a not-for-profit social impact charity, TVO believes in the importance of equitable education. We seek to represent the voices of communities across the entire province. To do this well, diversity, equity and inclusion are at the core of what we do every day.

Hospitality Management

Subject Guide Contact

AskAway (Online Research Help)

Streaming Videos

Streaming Video Collections