← BACK TO LEARNING COMMONS PAGE
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
AskAway service is open:
Monday to Thursday: 10:00 am to 10:00 pm
Friday: 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am to 10:00 pm
Primarily, materials are located in the library shelves at these call number ranges:
| Call Number | Subject Heading |
|---|---|
| TX 901 - 943 | Food Service |
| TX 901 - 946.5 | Hospitality Industry |
| TX 911.3.C8 | Customer Relations |
| TX 911.3.F75 | Hotel Front Desk Management |
| TX 911.3.F75 - 911.3.L3 | Hotel Employees |
| TX 911.3.M27 | Hospitality Management |
| TX 911.3.M3 | Hospitality Industry Marketing |
| TX 911.3.S4 | Hotel Security Management |
| TX 928 | Hotel Maintenance and Repair |
| TX 928 | Housekeeping |
| TX 943 | Restaurants |
Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC - 2nd ed.
This textbook is an introduction to the tourism and hospitality industry in British Columbia, and is written with a first year college and university audience in mind. It is a collaborative work with input from educators, industry leaders, employers, and past graduates of BC’s tourism and hospitality management programs. All chapters have been reviewed by experts in the field. Each chapter is organized thematically moving from a global, then national, and finally provincial context. Chapters contain "Spotlight On" boxes that highlight an organization, business, or other key component and "Take a Closer Look" features that encourage further reading on particular subjects. Key terms, exercises and case studies can be found at the end of each chapter..
New Perspectives in Hospitality Management
New Perspectives in Hospitality Management is a unique collection of articles that represent the highest level of scholarship in hospitality research. The articles identify themes that have established themselves as key trends among academics. These include:- Human resource management challenges - new research on labour turnover in luxury hotels and how classic hospitality paradigms have developed - Hospitality marketing - how the tourism distribution channel has been transformed, perceptions on guests'perceptions of customer loyalty and transforming customer satisfaction into'customer delight'- Experiences and behaviours - understanding quality aspects of restaurant image, hedonic and utilitarian values and how they influence restaurant image, and a customer-based approach to hotel experience and brand equity. The collection provides exemplary analysis of recent research trends concerning marketing and HRM research topics and methodology, while also looking to the future in terms of how information and communication technologies will shape the development of the hospitality sector. It will enable readers to access the most important'thinkers'active in this arena today.
Operations Management in the Hospitality Industry
From restaurants to resorts, the hospitality industry demands strong operations management to delight guests, develop employees, and deliver financial returns. This introductory text provides students with fundamental techniques and tools to analyse and improve operational capabilities of any hospitality organization. This book spans a breadth of topics critical to today's operations leaders. Each topic surveys key theories, frameworks, and industry examples, with additional depth achieved through engaging learning features. Uniquely, the book is set out in standalone chapters that can be digested individually or together; allowing flexibility for instructors and readers seeking to learn specific subject matter. Whether a student preparing for their career, or a professional seeking tools, readers will gain valuable knowledge from Operations Management in the Hospitality Industry.
The Spirit of Hospitality: How to add the missing ingredients your business needs
The Spirit of Hospitality takes readers on a journey of passion for purpose that empowers the missing ingredients of hospitality into a proven leadership style that works. Time has sped up to the point where technology has surpassed the last few thousand years by only a generation. What happened to kindness, humility and the human touch vs. having our face buried into a laptop or IPhone? A life dedicated to excellence does not come by chance, or with age, but by choice and commitment. Larry Stuart strives to give The Spirit of Hospitality to others who are called to a life of prosperity and significance. He provides the tools, attributes and real-life examples of what works when it comes to serving up a memorable guest service delivery and describes the necessary ingredients of hospitality. There is hope only if individuals bring back the missing ingredients of kindness, humility, integrity, encouragement, generosity, team and accountability. Only then is the spirit of hospitality empowered to provide the right leadership approach in building relationships to a new level of expectation, and allows those who embrace that spirit to accomplish whatever they strive to achieve.
Sustainable Hospitality Management
Sustainable Hospitality Management: Designing Meaningful Encounters with Talent and Technologywill generate international debate in the research and practice of hospitality management. It considers how the sector can and should innovate to respond to challenges such as talent scarcity, the growing ecological footprint, and technological developments. Volume 24 of Advanced Series in Managementexplores topics at the very heart of hospitality, by looking at meaningful encounters: positive, welcoming, genuinely service-oriented interactions between humans, and the role of technology in creating or improving these encounters. Human talent is essential to excellent service delivery and guest experience provision. It is also essential in the design and monitoring of technology-enabled guest or customer experience. Technology may be the service facilitator or it may be an experience enhancer. In today's globalizing platform economy, hospitality services are established most dominantly via technology-enabled platforms or networks. At the human interaction level, technology can deliver, support or intensify the hospitality experience. This volume is essential for researchers and students interested in the hospitality sector and the role of technology in creating a sustainable hospitality sector.
We have a good collection of print books on your topic in our Library.
These books are located at the Cranbrook Campus Library. If you wish to borrow any of these titles you will need a Student ID Card, please email circdesk@cotr.bc.ca for further information.
The items will be shipped to the Invermere Campus via inter-office mail.
A Career With Meaning: Recreation, Parks, Sport Management, Hospitality, and Tourism
A Career with Meaning is a tailor made journey that enables individuals to match their core beliefs and values with numerous professional opportunities within the leisure industry. Leading experts provide detailed discussion and insight for 11 primary areas related to recreation, parks, sport management, hospitality and tourism. Once you have identified and matched your values with a specific area, you will start planning your personal road map to a successful and rewarding career with the chapter “Preparing for a Career in Recreation.”
The Good Company
The Good Company tells the stories of over 30 inspiring companies around the world that are among the ethical leaders in the industry. The broad positive message is encouraging and enervating; each of the companies seeks to live up to the highest standard. The authors tell the steps they have taken and what has motivated them or enabled them to pursue such noble aims. This book includes case studies from of hotels, cruise lines, tour operators, agri-tourism, wineries and much more. Throughout the book, the authors address a variety of questions innovators and entrepreneurs have and note the lessons these companies can teach to those who want to build sustainable businesses that address the world's social and environmental problems.
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. There are 185 Hospitality Management degrees in the UK alone. This new edition updates and significantly revises twenty five per cent of the entries and has an additional twenty new entries. New online material makes it the most up-to-date and accessible hospitality management encyclopedia on the market. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management). Its unique, user-friendly structure enables readers to find exactly the information they require at a glance; whether they require broad detail that takes a more cross-sectional view across each subject field or more focused information that looks closely at specific topics and issues within the hospitality industry today.
Modern Native Feasts
Contemporary, imaginative interpretations of First Nations cuisine, including lighter, healthier, and more nutritious versions of traditional recipes. Native American cuisine comes of age in this elegant, contemporary collection that reinterprets and updates traditional Native recipes with modern, healthy twists. Andrew George Jr. was head chef for Aboriginal foods at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver; his imaginative menus reflect the diverse new culinary landscape while being mindful of an ages-old reverence for the land and sea, reflecting the growing interest in a cuisine that is rapidly moving into the mainstream to become the "next big thing" among food trends. Andrew also works actively at making Native foods healthier and more nutritious; his recipes are lighter, less caloric, and include Asian touches, such as bison ribs with Thai spices, and a sushi roll with various cooked fish wrapped in nori. Other dishes include venison barley soup, wild berry crumble, sea asparagus salad, and buffalo tourtiere. Full of healthy, delicious, and thoroughly North American fare, Modern Native Feasts is the first Aboriginal foods cookbook to go beyond the traditional and take a step into the twenty-first century.
Social Media in Travel, Tourism and Hospitality
Social media is fundamentally changing the way travellers and tourists search, find, read and trust, as well as collaboratively produce information about tourism suppliers and tourism destinations. Presenting cutting-edge theory, research and case studies investigating Web 2.0 applications and tools that transform the role and behaviour of the new generation of travellers, this book also examines the ways in which tourism organisations reengineer and implement their business models and operations, such as new service development, marketing, networking and knowledge management. Written by an international group of researchers widely known for their expertise in the field of the Internet and tourism, chapters include applications and case studies in various travel, tourism and leisure sectors.
Unreasonable Hospitality by
In 2006, Will Guidara and chef Daniel Humm were placed at the helm of Eleven Madison Park. The establishment, a brasserie with an identity crisis, was in desperate need of magic. In 2017, Eleven Madison Park was named the best restaurant in the world, legendary for its memorable, over-the-top, bespoke hospitality as much as its food. How did it pull off this radical transformation? Through sparkling stories of Guidara's journey through the restaurant industry, featuring the industry's most famous players, this book shows what it took, and urges us to find the magic in what we do.
