Research Guides: English & Literature: Databases & Journals

Find books, eBooks, videos, articles, and more.

*Search All results are best viewed in Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome internet browsers*

Advanced Search | Search Help

Find suggested resources and tools to help with your research.

Research Guides: Homepage

Citation Guides: APA, Chicago, CSE, MLA.

Find course reserves and their loan periods by instructor or course code.

Course Reserves List

Tips Add quotation marks around phrases to retrieve that exact phrase.
more...less...
* Add quotation marks around phrases to retrieve that exact phrase.
* Add the truncation symbol to the end of root words to retrieve multiple word endings. The truncation symbol for most databases is the asterisk * (for multiple characters -- metho* will retrieve results for method, methods, methodology, etc.) and the question mark ? (for single characters -- wom?n will retrieve results for woman or women).
* Check your spelling, check your search terms and determine if you are using the correct terms recognized by the database.

Search for Journal Articles

Relevant Databases

Academic Search Complete Offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences The JSTOR online searchable database offers full-text scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines totalling over 4 million pages. Search for information on topics, such as: music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture, feminist & women’s studies, political science, language, literature, health policy, anthropology, sociology, business, economics, and population studies. NOTE: Because of agreements with publishers, JSTOR does not provide access to the most current issues excluding journals within 2 – 5 years plus current calendar year.

Relevant E-Journals

Journeys: The International Journal of Travel and Travel Writing Journeys is an interdisciplinary journal that explores travel as a practice and travel writing as a genre, reflecting the rich diversity of travel and journeys as social and cultural practices as well as their significance as metaphorical processes
The Lion and the Unicorn The Lion and the Unicorn, an international theme- and genre-centered journal, is committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture. It is especially noted for its interviews with authors, editors, and other important contributors to the field, as well as its outstanding book review section.

Print Journals in the Library Collection

Print Journal Collection
This collection contains print journals and magazines

The term "journals" refers to material which is published in separate parts and at regular intervals. Other terms used to describe this type of material are periodicals, magazines or serials. Journals are important sources of information for subject research.

Print journals are the hard copy journals that are physically sent to our library.

Relevant Print Journal

Children's Literature Association Quarterly Children's Literature Association Quarterly publishes first-rate scholarship in children's literature studies. Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews. The Quarterly is available to members of the Children's Literature Association (ChLA) as a benefit of membership.