Research Guides: Information Literacy Skills Development (ILSD): Workshops

About Library Instruction Sessions

Group and individual library and information literacy support is offered throughout the year on a range of topics such as, but not limited to:

APA, MLA, CSE, and Chicago Citation and Referencing
Research skills
Website evaluation
Using various database interfaces and limiters
Identifying and critically evaluating sources
Avoiding plagiarism
Maintaining academic integrity
Identifying appropriate database (EBSCO is NOT a database)

Work with your Librarian to arrange workshops and tailored sessions for your courses. Workshops are:

collaborative
engaging
active-learning
topic or course specific

What Your Librarian Can Do!

Librarians are experts in information retrieval and literacy at all levels of education. We spend dozens of hours researching and navigating a host of information sources and resources. Librarians can:

deliver workshops that meet course and assignment learning objectives
build tutorials and learning objects
design course specific and customized Research Guides
help identify relevant, appropriate, and accessible resources for assignments and courses

What more can we do?

Create better research assignments	Create tiered research assignments	Embed smaller research components
Process over product; tiered paper approach Suggest alternatives to the 5-7 pages Annotated bibliography Literature review Bibliographic essay	Thesis/topic meeting Research log/journal Preliminary bibliography Mid-point check (citation and sources)	Explain citations Explain source types Suggest disciplinary sources Explain terminology (primary vs. secondary) Explain information cycle

Workshop Topics

Workshop length for each topic varies.

BASIC	INTERMEDIATE	ADVANCED
Orientation to library resources Select and refine topic Keyword development and searching Search All exploration Information sources (scholarly/popular primary/secondary, information creation cycle) Locating background information (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks) Academic Integrity and Avoiding Plagiarism Understanding a citation	Efficient searching with licensed databases Citing sources (APA, MLA, CSE, Chicago) Searching with Goggle Scholar Understanding the peer-review process Locating statistics and data Evaluating sources (print and online)	Database searching (controlled vocabularies, subject, date, evidence based, research conversation) Government documents Grey literature