Research Guides: Business Program: Videos

Streaming Videos

Effective Communication in Business When a person has to rush to work in his pajamas because he’s overslept (and, incidentally, his house was demolished by accident while he was asleep in it), it’s the start of what can only be a very bad day. This humorously surreal dramatization tracks “pajama man” around the office to make serious points about verbal vs. nonverbal and formal vs. informal communication; how communication can break down due to misunderstanding or distraction; why failures of business communication can be so detrimental, whether they are internal, B2B, or customer-facing; and the liabilities of unethical communications such as spamming and inappropriate texting. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (20 minutes)
Ethics and Social Responsibility in Business Many businesses abide by a code of conduct, either company-specific or industry-wide. This timely program distinguishes between ethical behavior and social responsibility by spotlighting two well-known Australian businesses that exhibit both qualities: Bendigo Bank and its Community Bank initiative, a cooperatively spirited venture that teaches solid commercial principles to franchisees, and The Body Shop, a skincare product provider that calls itself an activist organization committed to positive social and environmental change and a retailer committed to customer service excellence. The underlying message? Good community is good business. (27 minutes)

Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos This link opens in a new window Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics.

The Sharing Economy Taxis and hotels are two businesses being disrupted by a new business model based on an old idea: sharing. Airbnb, Uber and other online services help connect people willing to offer their underused apartment, automobile passenger space or other assets to those who want access to them....

Streaming Video Collections

Criterion-on-Demand (Multidisciplinary) This collection has more than 2,600 major motion pictures (largely Hollywood films) and more than 100 documentary features. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
Curio.ca (Multidisciplinary) This collection gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos (Business) In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trades Videos This collection of online videos includes a variety of subjects related to Technology and Trades, including: Agriculture, Automotive Technology, Building & Technical Trades, Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Technical Communication.
NFB (Multidisciplinary) Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
TVO Today As an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Education and a not-for-profit social impact charity, TVO believes in the importance of equitable education. We seek to represent the voices of communities across the entire province. To do this well, diversity, equity and inclusion are at the core of what we do every day.

Business Program

Subject Guide Contact

AskAway (Online Research Help)

Streaming Videos

Streaming Video Collections