Research Guides: Business Program: PESTEL/PESTLE

PESTEL/PESTLE

The Quick Guide to PESTEL/PESTLE Analysis

About PESTEL

PESTEL is an acronym for Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Environmental (or ecological) and Legal factors of the macro-environment of a company's or business' operations.

Books on PESTEL

Pestle Analysis Prepare the best strategies in advance This book is a practical and accessible guide to understanding and implementing the PESTLE analysis, providing you with the essential information and saving time. In 50 minutes you will be able to: Understand the uses of the PESTLE analysis and how it can be useful for your business; Categorize the macroeconomic variables of your business into the six different sections of the PESTLE analysis: Political, Economic, Socio-cultural, Technological, Legal and Environmental; Analyze your findings and use the information to construct possible future scenarios and plan the best action to take in advance.
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .D34 2015
Pestle Analysis for Beginners Our series of management Books cover everything from accounting principles to business strategy. Each one has been written to provide you with the practical skills you need to succeed as a management professional. All our Books for business professionals are written exclusively by experts within their fields. Delve into subjects such as accounting, self management, human resource management and job searching! This updated and expanded second edition of Book provides a user-friendly introduction to the subject, Taking a clear structural framework, it guides the reader through the subject's core elements. A flowing writing style combines with the use of illustrations and diagrams throughout the text to ensure the reader understands even the most complex of concepts. This succinct and enlightening overview is a required reading for all those interested in the subject . We hope you find this book useful in shaping your future career & Business.
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .V438 2015 CRANBROOK

Political Factors

Macroeconomic political factors include political climate and governmental activity that may affect industry-specific outcomes:

fiscal policy
tariffs
energy
policies and processes

EDGAR OPEN ACCESS - US Securities EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, collects, validates and indexes submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
CanadaCorporates - Company Profiles of Canada A comprehensive company profiles and business information database of Canada. This system enables you to conduct searches online on the current data of registered companies. Source: CanadaCorporates Website
Canadian Company Capabilities Find companies that can supply your organization with the goods, services and technology it needs. Source: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada. Source: Industry Canada Website

Economic Conditions

Economic Conditions include aspects of the overall economy. specific areas of interest focus on growth and decline, such as:

interest
exchange
unemployment rates
market conditions
consumer confidence
discretionary income

BC Government Financial Reporting Financial reports from the Government of BC. Includes: budget and fiscal planning, financial statements, economic forecasting, and contract performance.
Conference Board of Canada The Conference Board of Canada provides free, downloadable access to all Conference Board research documents from 1998 and Public Policy research documents. Source: Conference Board of Canada Website
Economic Accounts - Canada Statistics Canada economic accounts and key indicators.
Euromonitor Euromonitor publishes reports on industries, consumers and demographics in Canada. Source: Euromonitor Website
Regional Business Centre Market research and statistics: Discover what market research is, and how to create an effective market research campaign. Learn more about your industry, your customers and the markets you serve. Source: Regional Business Centre Website

Social & Cultural Forces

Socio-cultural forces are:

societal values
attitudes
lifestyles
demographics

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Labour Market Information Information on jobs, skills and local labour market trends provided by Employment and Social Development Canada, an agency of the Canadian federal government. Source: Government of Canada Website
Statistics Canada - Society and Community Canada's federal statistics agency, responsible for gathering and reporting statistical information on Canada's population, resources, economy, society and culture. Source: Statistics Canada Website
People, Population, and Community BC View statistics that reflect the people of B.C. including socioeconomic profiles, population projections, migration figures and census profiles for Indigenous peoples.

Technological Factors

Strategic management refer to technological factors in a company’s external environment. These include:

the pace of technological developments
institutions or activities that inform and drive technology and innovation

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA Complete) This database, with full-text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available. CBCA Business features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
GeekWire GeekWire is a fast-growing, national technology news site with strong roots in the Seattle region and a large audience of loyal, tech-savvy readers around the globe, who follow the site for breaking news, expert analysis and unique insights into the technology industry. In addition to news coverage, GeekWire provides widely-used resources for the Pacific Northwest technology community, including the GeekWork job board, GeekWire 200 startup ranking, GeekWire Seattle engineering outpost list, the Startup List database, Service Provider Directory and GeekWire Calendar. GeekWire also produces popular audio podcasts and video shows.
Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
TrendWatching As one of the world’s leading consumer trend firms since 2002, TrendWatching is purpose-built to guide, inspire and empower business professionals – whether they're marketers, creatives, strategists, entrepreneurs or innovators – to bring to market more sustainable and impactful innovations that benefit all, not the few. To achieve this, we deliver Free Trend Updates to over 100,000 trend-driven professionals worldwide and offer a number of dedicated trend services. Our teams in Amsterdam, Berlin, Singapore, London, Rio de Janeiro, Barcelona and New York relentlessly scan the globe to spotlight countless meaningful trends and innovations – supported by a network of 900+ spotters in over 90 countries.

Environmental Factors

CRS Wire 3BLMedia's platform for news, views and reports in corporate social responsibility.
Dow Jones Sustainability Indices These indices are sustainability benchmarks provided by Dow Jones and intended for investors who include sustainability considerations in their portfolios.

Legal & Regulatory

Legal and regulatory factors include compliance issues, such as:

consumer
labour
minimum-wage
OHS and anti-trust laws and regulations

Canadian Legal Information Institute CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. Their website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
EDC Topical Business Issues World Bank reports on economic regulations in countries around the world and selected cities.
Export Development Canada Knowledge Centre Information on exporting provided by the Canadian federal government.
Policies, Regulations and Laws Information on recent and past legislation provided by the Canadian Federal Government.
WorksafeBC The organization was established by provincial legislation as an agency with the mandate to oversee a no-fault insurance system for the workplace. They partner with employers and workers in B.C. to promote the prevention of workplace injury, illness, and disease; rehabilitate those who are injured, and provide timely return to work; provide fair compensation to replace workers' loss of wages while recovering from injuries; and ensure sound financial management for a viable workers' compensation system.

Business Program

Subject Guide Contact

AskAway (Online Research Help)