← BACK TO LEARNING COMMONS PAGE
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
AskAway service is open:
Monday to Thursday: 10:00 am to 10:00 pm
Friday: 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am to 10:00 pm
Persuasive Business Proposals
With over 40,000 copies sold, the first edition of Persuasive Business Proposals helped many readers construct dynamic, effective proposals. Now in paperback, this fully-revised second edition still gives readers simple, effective techniques for organizing, writing, and delivering proposals while updating the author's winning strategies for today's global business environment. By cutting through the confusion, and providing dozens of real-world examples, this updated version provides step-by-step instructions for crafting value-centered, recipient-specific proposal packages, with all-new discussions on: * How to increase business using new communication channels from e-mail and electronic submissions to PDF, HTML, and others * The Seven Worst Proposal Mistakes illustrated with real-world examples This is an essential book for anyone seeking to win contracts and sell projects." "
Qualitative Research in Business
Qualitative methods are today taking their rightful place as valuable and powerful research tools both in business and elsewhere. Many professionals, however, continue to lack the skills needed to apply these methods in an effective and convincing manner. Qualitative Methods in Business Research: A Practical Guidebook offers an analysis and "how to" guide regarding qualitative research methods that provides practical and effective advice for those seeking knowledge regarding the application of these tools. Opening discussions compare formal/scientific/quantitative methods of investigation with qualitative alternatives. Having provided this overview, a range of qualitative methods are discussed in an easy-to-understand manner that will be invaluable for those who wish to use these tools as part of their decision-making processes. Assuming no prior background in qualitative research methods, the text is ideal both for the classroom and for use as a professional handbook. Powerpoint presentations reviewing each chapter will be provided to those instructors adopting the book as a text for classroom instruction.
Research Proposals
This third edition of the classic "how-to" guide incorporates recent changes in policies and procedures of the NIH, with particular emphasis on the role of the Internet in the research proposal process. Completely revised and updated, it reveals the secrets of success used by seasoned investigators, and directs the reader through the maze of NIH bureaucracies. In addition to providing a detailed overview of the entire review process, the book also includes hundreds of tips on how to enhance proposals, excerpts from real proposals, and extensive Internet references. This book is essential to all scientists involved in the grant writing process.
Bad to Good
For decades, scholars have bemoaned the low relevancy and impact of most research in the leading journals in business, management, and marketing. The majority of the research that gets published, perhaps 70% of it, hardly has any measurable scholarly impact in terms of citations. Rather than low relevancy, 'Bad to Good' posits that the deeper issue is the pervasive use of bad research practices appearing in most articles in almost all ranked journals in the sub-disciplines of business.With the objective of reducing the high volume of bad practices in research in finance, management and marketing, the book offers tools for improving theory construction and empirical testing of theory especially by early-to-mid scholars. 'Bad to Good' covers 24 common bad practices, explaining why they are bad and how to replace them with good practices.Arch Woodside is a leading voice on how to improve business research. He served as the Editor-in-Chief of the 'Journal of Business Research' (JBR) for forty years. In 2016 the JBR ranked first among the top-twenty journals in marketing in the Google.com/scholar h-5 index (an impact metric) and seventh among the strategic management sub-discipline.
Developing a Plan for the Planet
The world struggles with increasing threats to global sustainability, caused by population growth, overuse of fresh water resources, depletion of biodiversity, and reliance on non-renewable energy sources. There is an urgent need for an overall plan to address these challenges in a coordinated and effective manner. Whether in government, business, community or as an individual, we need to begin acting a lot smarter, faster and more collaboratively if we are going to avert the potential devastating impacts on this planet. Plan for the Planet outlines a co-ordinated approach to tackling the global challenges we face which can be implemented at every level. Using proven business management wisdom and principles, this book provides perhaps the most comprehensive and robust framework within which business, government and the community can work together to build a sustainable world. Whether you want to understand how to prepare your organisation and yourself to deal successfully with the global challenges, or seize the opportunities which are fast developing with the emergence of the sustainability revolution, you will benefit from reading this timely book.
Essentials of Business Research Methods
In an era of big data and data analytics, how can managers make decisions based on almost unlimited information, not to mention hiring and retaining individuals with the required data analytics skills? The new fourth edition of Essentials of Business Research Methodsexplains research methods and analytical techniques for individuals who aren't data scientists. The authors offer a straightforward, hands-on approach to the vital managerial process of gathering and using data to make relevant and timely business decisions. They include critical topics, such as the increasing role of online research, ethical issues, privacy matters, data analytics, customer relationship management, how to conduct information-gathering activities more effectively in a rapidly changing business environment, and more. This is also the only text that includes a chapter on qualitative data analysis, and the coverage of quantitative data analysis is more extensive as well as much easier to understand than in other texts. A realistic continuing case used throughout the book, applied research examples, and ethical dilemma mini cases enable upper-level undergraduate and postgraduate students to see how business research information is used in the real world. This comprehensive textbook is supported by a range of online resources, including instructors' manuals, PowerPoint slides, and test banks.
Real Business Plans and Marketing Tools
The first title in PREP's new Business Success Series is designed to help individuals who want to prepare paperwork related to starting, growing, selling, or marketing a business. The book contains real business plans for those contemplating entrepreneurship as well as for those who have an ongoing business which they are interested in selling. Readers will see samples of real business plans used by real organizations to sell a business to public companies. Readers will also see samples of documents, paperwork, and financial statements used by real companies to obtain equity financing and bank loans. A valuable section of the book is the section which shows marketing tools and "business resumes" used to attract new customers and increase profitability. (The author holds an MBA from the Harvard Business School.)
These online sites offer a variety of tools, tips, and sample plans to help you research and write a business research proposal and business plan.
Business Writing
Book 3 of the Smart Skills series: practical guides to mastering vital business skills and techniques. Using proven strategies from business experts, these essential smart skills can empower anyone with the tools to get ahead. Gain a competitive edge at work with your business writing skills. Effective business writing skills can help you win that million-pound contract, earn a promotion, resolve a dispute or generate a significant increase in business leads. Our Smart Skillsbook offers proven, practical advice on how to put over a clear and impressive message in a style that's deceptively simple and even enjoyable to read. These guidelines will teach you how to: Write and format business reports, proposals or presentations Recognise the dangers of poor writing Write effectively under time pressure Use persuasive techniques and structures Deal with all types of documentation from a "simple" email to a long report Accessibly written, it includes checklists, templatesand exercisesto help you work through even the most basic building blocks of good writing. Business Writing provides an antidote to the dangers of 'gobbledegook' and 'business-speak' and allows you to generate any kind of document with confidence. After reading this guide, your writing will be effective, engaging and memorable- a vital skill for all professionals.
Style Guide for Business Writing
Style guides come in many shapes and sizes, usually focused toward scientific or academic use only. However, business writing is a space occupied by many individuals that has not been given the attention it deserves. The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers in both the public and private sector, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer. Major topics are arranged alphabetically and the cross references and index enable quick and easy access to information. Michael C. Thomsett is a market expert, author, speaker, and coach. His many books include Stock Market Math, Candlestick Charting, The Mathematics of Options, and A Technical Approach to Trend Analysis.
These books are available to all students with a current Student ID card. If at a satellite campus, please request an intercampus loan and this item will be sent to you.
To request a loan, contact the Circulation desk at circdesk@cotr.bc.ca or 250-489-8294.
If you don't have a current Student ID card, contact your Campus Administration desk for instructions.
How to Write a Business Plan
"If a reader is thinking of starting a business or raising money to expand an existing one, they'll need a plan. This edition is completely updated, providing all-new online resources and updated examples of successful business plans."
Business Plan, Business Reality : Starting and managing your own business in Canada
"Business Plan, Business Reality provides you with what you need to plan, start, and manage your own business. A focus on Canadian examples, a unique emphasis on smaller businesses and a hands-on perspective will provide you with the basics for your money-making idea"
Review the guide created by staff at Purdue University Library.
"This guide is intended to help you organize and write a quality academic research paper. Also included are recommendations regarding how to manage specific course assignments. Note that, if you have specific questions about how to write a research paper, you should always seek advice from your professor before you begin. Specific requirements stated by your professor will always supersede instructions provided in these general guidelines."
