← BACK TO LEARNING COMMONS PAGE
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
| Learning Commons Homepage | https://cotr.bc.ca/learning-commons/ |
| Mobile Site |
| Library Branches | Cranbrook Campus | |
| Service Hours | Hours of Operation – see General Information Mountain Time |
|
| Policies |
FAQs |
|
| Floor Plans |
|
|
| Circulation/ Checkout/ Loans Phone Numbers |
250-489-8294 |Toll free: 1-877-489-2687 x3294 | circdesk@cotr.bc.ca | |
| Research Desk Phone Number | 250-489-8292 Toll free: 1-877-489-2687 x3292 |
|
| Email Address for Research Questions |
|
|
| Phone Number for Text Message Research |
|
Resources and Services
| Library Search (EBSCO Discovery) | Quick Search – Advanced Search | |
| Indexes & Databases | A-Z Database List | |
| Institutional Repository / Digital Collections | COTRspace | |
| Google Scholar | Google Scholar Off-campus or College WiFi users must have library links set to “College of the Rockies Library – Full Text @ COTR Library” also “College of the Rockies – ProQuest Full Text” under Settings – My Library Links. Browsers must be set to accept Cookies. |
|
| Database Authentication |
Remote off-campus access to the electronic collection and databases is available to registered students and employees. A current and active College Network Account is required. When accessing any of our electronic databases from off-campus you will be prompted to provide your COTR User ID number (example: c1234567) and the password that you created when activating your College Network Account. Student Help Desk |
|
| Subject Guides | Subject Specific Guides | |
| Citation Guides |
|
|
| Instruction | To schedule an ILSD workshop contact the librarian | |
| List of Librarians | Information Literacy Skills Development (ILSD) – Jody Mendenhall | |
| Reserves | Reserve items are held at the Learning Commons Information & Service Desk. | |
| Interlibrary Loans |
|
|
| E-journals | Search for e-journals in the Publication Finder | |
| Print Journals | ||
| Technical Help | For questions related to network logins, students can contact the IT Help Desk: studenthelp@cotr.bc.ca For questions related to COTROnline logins, students can contact the COTROnline Help Desk: cotronline@cotr.bc.ca Community patron library login questions can be directed to: circdesk@cotr.bc.ca Further College Network Account Activation & Login Information (including COTROnline ‘Moodle’) |
|
| Tutoring Services | Tutoring Support | |
| WriteAway link | WriteAway – online writing help | |
| *New Generative AI Guidelines |
AI - Artificial Intelligence guide Currently, there is no institutional-wide policy; students are encouraged to check with each instructor for their policies around AI. |
|
| eResources Emergency Contact | Sue Morin smorin@cotr.bc.ca | 250-489-2751 x3407 OR Research Help Desk library@cotr.bc.ca |
Borrowing Information
|
All patrons require a Photo ID card to borrow from the Library. Students/Staff/Faculty can apply online for an ID card. They can also come into the Learning Commons to have a photo taken and complete the photo ID process. Note: You must have Government issued photo ID with you when you request a card in-person. If requesting an ID card online, you will need to upload a photo of your Government issued photo ID. Borrowing privileges are extended to all College students and employees and to anyone residing within the College region. Students must provide proof of current registration or government photo ID. Community users are required to provide government photo id with proof of residence, but registration is free, more info found here. |
|
| Loan Periods | Borrowing Periods and Number of Items to be Borrowed Alumni: Members of the Alumni Network will have access to the following Services: Borrowing privileges (as long as you live in the College region) Inter-library loan on a cost-recovery basis Access to the licensed databases/e-books via public access computers on site |
|
| Holds/ Recalls/ Requests | ||
| Renewals | Renew online via My Account | |
| Fines/ Penalties | ||
| Borrowing Policies | Borrowing Services | |
| Library Account |
|
|
| After hours book returns | When the Learning Commons is closed, please drop off your items in the Book Bin at the main doors of the Learning Commons. |
Equipment and Facilities
| Internet Access | There are OPAC computers in the Learning Commons which provide internet access to users, including Community users. You may check web-based email, browse the internet or use the library catalogue. Printing is available at $0.10 per page for community users. Students will be deducted $0.10 per page from your student printing account. Students, staff and faculty who wish to access the internet, use MS Office programs, and print or save, must log in using their Network login credentials. | ||
| Wireless Access |
|
||
| Photocopiers |
|
||
| Printers | College of the Rockies qualifying students receive $30.00 free printing/copying each semester; additional printing/copying can be purchased at the Information & Service Desk. UVic students (BSN & EKTEP) receive $60.00 free printing/copying each semester. |
||
| Microfilm/Microfiche | Not available. | ||
| Meeting/ Study Rooms |
|
||
| Computers in the Learning Commons |
|
Campus Information
| Academic Calendar | Current Program Guide | |
| Exam Schedules | View Exam Schedules and Protocols | |
| Campus Maps |
|
|
| *NEW* Campus Security Contact |
1-877-489-2687 x222 OR cell 250-581-4265 |
Other Resources
| AskAway Local Administrator | Sue Morin, Senior Library Technician (Copyright & Reference) smorin@cotr.bc.ca | 250-489-2751 x3407 |
| AskAway Local Administrator | Jody Mendenhall, Librarian jmendenhall@cotr.bc.ca | 250-489-2751 x3419 |
| Back-up Phone Number | Research Support Desk 250-489-8292, available Monday-Friday 9am to 4:00pm or Toll free: 1-877-489-2687 x3292 |