Google Scholar

Why Use It?

"Google Scholar aims to sort articles the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each article, the author, the publication in which the article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature. The most relevant results will always appear on the first page."

 It provides access to scholarly literature from many disciplines and sources. It indexes articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites.

Google Scholar is a great place to scan across a lot of sources at once, but it doesn't know what you have rights to access. For example, It might take you to a page that asks you to pay for the article you want. If you can't gain access to an article, or are being prompted to pay, please reach out to the library and we will try to get access for you.

How to Change Library Links' Settings

Access Google Scholar to connect to the full-text articles that are part of our library's collection.

1. Find Settings on the left hand side of the screen

2. Select Library Links within settings

3. Deselect any non-COTR libraries

4. Search for College of the Rockies

5. Select College of the Rockies Library - Full Text @ COTR Library and COLLEGE OF THE ROCKIES - ProQuest Fulltext

6. Click Save

Interlibrary Loan

If you cannot locate the full-text of a journal article, please check our interlibrary loan service.

This can be found by going to the COTR website > Learning Commons > info & Services (Start Here!) > Contacts > Interlibrary Loan. Please include as much information about the article you are looking for in an email and your library staff will get back to as soon as they can..

For assistance, you can also email the research help staff,  library@cotr.bc.ca

Accessing Google Scholar

You can access Google Scholar by going to the A-Z Database List on the Library website and looking in the "G" section.