Research Guides: Tourism Management: Videos

Streaming Videos

Eco-tourism: Trail of the Great Bear "As we have all become more aware of how humans impact the land, it is important to explore tourism that benefits the resource. Ecotourism vacations, such as those offered by Trail of the Great Bear, provide opportunities to learn, understand and appreciate the environment."
Growth and Niche Markets in Tourism It’s one of the world’s fastest-growing industries, but like any business, tourism is evolving. More and more travelers are looking for experiences that go beyond the typical cruise or hotel stay—and with the emergence of niche tourism comes an increasing need for anyone in the hospitality trade to understand how it is expanding and what forms of specialization are involved. This program explores a range of niche markets, including volunteer tourism, health and medical tourism, gastronomic tourism, and even so-called dark tourism, which, as the name suggests, focuses on famous burial sites, war zones, and other points of macabre interest. Discussions with niche market tourists explore the motivations behind their excursions and whether the outcomes were what they’d hoped for. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (21 minutes)
Heritage Tourism "Giving people a taste of the Metis world, this program shows how an aboriginal owned and operated company is teaching visitors about the skills and rich cultural heritage of the Metis people. Their company reaches out to visitors from all over the world, as well as Metis youth within Canada."
The Last Tourist Travel is at a tipping point. Tourists are unintentionally destroying the very things they have come to see. Overtourism has magnified its impact on the environment, wildlife, and vulnerable communities around the globe. Filmed in over 15 countries and guided by the world's leading tourism and conservation visionaries, THE LAST TOURIST reveals the real conditions and consequences of one of the largest industries worldwide through the forgotten voices of those working in its shadow. The role of the modern tourist is on trial.

Streaming Video Collections

Criterion-on-Demand (Multidisciplinary) This collection has more than 2,600 major motion pictures (largely Hollywood films) and more than 100 documentary features. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
Curio.ca (Multidisciplinary) This collection gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos (Business) In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trades Videos This collection of online videos includes a variety of subjects related to Technology and Trades, including: Agriculture, Automotive Technology, Building & Technical Trades, Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Technical Communication.
NFB (Multidisciplinary) Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
TVO Today As an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Education and a not-for-profit social impact charity, TVO believes in the importance of equitable education. We seek to represent the voices of communities across the entire province. To do this well, diversity, equity and inclusion are at the core of what we do every day.

Tourism Management

Subject Guide Contact

AskAway (Online Research Help)

Streaming Videos

Streaming Video Collections