← BACK TO LEARNING COMMONS PAGE
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
AskAway service is open:
Monday to Thursday: 10:00 am to 10:00 pm
Friday: 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am to 10:00 pm
Primarily, materials are located in the library shelves at these call number ranges:
| Call Number | Subject Heading |
|---|---|
| G 154.9 - 180 | Tourism |
| G 156.5.E26 | Ecotourism |
| G 156.5.H47 | Cultural Tourism |
| GE 300 - 350 | Environmental Management |
| HC 79.E5 | Environmental Policy and Economic Development. Sustainable Development. |
Adventures in Small Tourism
Adventures in Small Tourism presents academic studies and personal stories about small tourism. While small tourism is not new, it has become increasingly important as the widespread negative effects of overtourism have become increasingly apparent, with cities like Amsterdam and Barcelona experiencing barriocide, the death of neighbourhoods, as they host overwhelming numbers of visitors. Small tourism, especially creative tourism, not only reduces the actual and potential negative impact of guests on local culture but actively seeks to strengthen and revive local communities by weaving together the experiences of guest and host. Participatory, respectful, and celebratory methods and manners of tourism, rooted in community and cultural networks, has the potential to strengthen cultural bonds, support economic development, and increase sustainability. Focusing on the provision of small-scale creative tourism experiences, Adventures in Small Tourism explores possibilities for local empowerment through community-based tourism. With stories and studies from Italy, Portugal, Colombia, Japan, Australia, and beyond, this collection tells stories of visitors and residents coming together to co-create place in walks and workshops, gastronomy and art, festivals, markets, and more. This is a book that dares to ask what the future can be. With contributions by: Diana Guerra Amaya, Katja Bek Kos, Keith Lewis Bradbury, Nancy Duxbury, Darcen David Esau, Mohammadreza Gohari, John S. Hull, Vid Kmetič, Attila Komlós, Donald Lawrence, Sylvia M. Leighton, Alison Lullfitz, Moira A.L. Maley, Courtney W. Mason, Una McMahon-Beattie, Mateja Meh, Emese Panyik, Carol Pettersen, André Luis Quintino Principe, Meng Qu, Donna M. Senese, M. Jane Thompson, Spencer J. Toth, J. Eddy Wajon, Josie Vayro, Ian Yeoman, Simona Zollet, and Diana Marcela Zuluaga Guerra
Handbook of Tourism Economics
Information and Communication Technologies in Tourism 2023
This open access book provides an extensive overview of the usage of information and communication technologies in the tourism and hospitality industry. It presents the proceedings of the International Federation for IT and Travel & Tourism (IFITT)’s 30th Annual International eTourism Conference, which assembles the latest research presented at the ENTER2023 conference. The enclosed papers cover various topics within the field, including augmented and virtual reality, website development, social media use, e-learning, big data, analytics and recommendation systems.
Introduction to Tourism and Hospitality in BC - 2nd ed.
"This textbook is an introduction to the tourism and hospitality industry in British Columbia, and is written with a first year college and university audience in mind. It is a collaborative work with input from educators, industry leaders, employers, and past graduates of BC's tourism and hospitality management programs. All chapters have been reviewed by experts in the field. Each chapter is organized thematically moving from a global, then national, and finally provincial context. Chapters contain "Spotlight On" boxes that highlight an organization, business, or other key component and "Take a Closer Look" features that encourage further reading on particular subjects. Key terms, exercises and case studies can be found at the end of each chapter."--BC Campus website.
Tourism Management, Marketing, and Development
Companies and destinations in the tourism sector are confronted with increasing managerial challenges and have to deal with a competitive, turbulent, and fast-changing environment. The understanding that both tourism companies and destinations endowed with the best assets (natural and cultural) cannot survive the escalating international competition without good managerial practices, has provided significant momentum for the development of the disciplinary field of tourism management in the last three decades. This volume recognizes the relevance of travel, tourism, and tourism activities as major economic drivers in the contemporary global economy, with a specific focus on performance, strategies, and sustainability. It is the collective intellectual effort of a number of international scholars, who cultivate original research on tourism management from a variety of theoretical perspectives. Together, they outline the importance for tourism companies and destinations to achieve and maintain a sustained competitive advantage by embracing sustainability and a Triple Bottom Line (TBL) approach to performance.
We have a good collection of books on your topic in our library. Here are a select few for you to review.
Essentials of Tourism
Essentials of Tourism offers a concise and student-friendly introduction to the field of tourism. Written in a lively and engaging style, the book boasts an extensive range of case studies from around the world, and provides you with a coherent and consistent text, blending tourism principles and theory with practice. Each chapter features three case studies which illustrate contemporary practice in the leisure and tourism industry. Examples are drawn from a wide variety of destinations from around the globe, giving this text a truly international approach. The book is the essential companion for undergraduate students studying Tourism and Tourism Management. It is accompanied by a companion website packed with extra resources for both students and lecturers, including multiple choice questions, PowerPoint slides and links to further reading.
The Future of Dark Tourism - NEW
This book offers critical scenarios of dark tourism futures and examines how our significant dead will be remembered in future visitor economies. It aims to inspire critical thinking by probing the past, disrupting the present and provoking the future. The volume outlines key features of difficult heritage and future cultural trauma and highlights the role of technology, immersive visitor experiences and the thanatological condition of future dark tourism. The book provides a collection of informed observations of how future societies might recall their memorable dead, and how the noteworthy dead might be (re)created and retained through dark tourism. The book forecasts a dark tourism future that is not only perilous but also full of possibilities. It is a helpful resource for students and researchers in tourism, heritage, futurology, sociology, human geography and cultural studies.
The Future of Tourism: Innovation and Sustainability
This book presents the foundations for the future of tourism in a structured and detailed format. The who-is-who of tourism intelligence has collaborated to present a definitive blueprint for tourism reflecting the role of science, market institutions, and governance in its innovation and sustainability. The book adopts a comprehensive approach, exploring recent research and the latest developments in practice to inform the reader about instruments and actions that can shape a successful future for tourism. Broad in scope, the book incorporates the perspectives of leading tourism academics, as well as the views of tourism entrepreneurs, destination managers, government officials, and civil leaders. The book is divided into three parts, the first of which addresses the scientific facets of innovation, analyzing the challenges and opportunities that technology provides for organic and disruptive developments in tourism, which will shape its future. In turn, the second part examines socio-cultural paradigms – with a view to dismantling traditional barriers to innovation. It also explores the role of heritage and the ethics of inclusiveness as drivers for sustainable tourism. The third part investigates new ways and means in governance and policy making for tourism. It introduces advances such as strategic positioning, symbiotic partnerships, and innovative management, and closes by presenting governance frameworks for an inclusive and sustainable future of tourism.
Indigenous Tourism Movements
Cultural tourism is frequently marketed as an economic panacea for communities whose traditional ways of life have been compromised by the dominant societies by which they have been colonized. Indigenous communities in particular are responding to these opportunities in innovative ways that set them apart from their non-Indigenous predecessors and competitors. Indigenous Tourism Movements explores Indigenous identity using "movement" as a metaphor, drawing on case studies from throughout the world including Botswana, Canada, Chile, Panama, Tanzania, and the United States. Editors Alexis C.Bunten and Nelson Graburn, along with a diverse group of contributors, frame tourism as a critical lens to explore the shifting identity politics of Indigeneity in relation to heritage, global policy, and development. They juxtapose diverse expressions of identity - from the commodification of Indigenous culture to the performance of heritage for tourists - to illuminate the complex local, national, and transnational connections these expressions produce. Indigenous Tourism Movements is a sophisticated, sensitive, and refreshingly frank examination of Indigeneity in the contemporary world.
Routledge Handbook of Mobile Technology, Social Media and the Outdoors - NEW
This is the first book to explore the numerous ways in which mobile technologies and social media are influencing our outdoor experiences. Across the fields of outdoor education, outdoor recreation and leisure, and nature-based tourism, the book considers how practices within each of those domains are being influenced by dramatically shifting interactions between technology, humans, the natural world, and wider society. Drawing on cutting-edge research by leading scholars from around the world and exploring key concepts and theory, as well as developments in professional practice, the book explains how digital technology and media are no longer separate from typical human and social activity. Instead, the broader field of outdoor studies can be viewed as a world of intertwined socio-technical assemblages that need to be understood in more diverse ways. The book offers a full-spectrum view of this profound shift in our engagement with the world around us by presenting new work on subjects including networked spaces in residential outdoor education, digital competencies for outdoor educators, the use of social media in climbing communities, and the impact of digital technologies on experiences of adventure tourism. This is essential reading for anybody with an interest in outdoor studies, outdoor education, adventure education, leisure studies, tourism, environmental studies, environmental education, or science, technology, and society studies.
Tourist Cultures
This is a timely and easily accessible book that addresses a number of issues that are of central concern to the development of tourism studies. Sharp and engaging, Tourist Cultures presents valuable critical insights into tourism - arguing that within the imagined-real spaces of the traveler self it becomes possible to envisage tourist cultures and futures that will both empower and engage. Here is a framework for understanding tourism which is subject-centered, dynamic, and capable of dealing with the complexity of contemporary tourist cultures. The book argues that tourists are not passive consumers of either destinations or their interpretations. Rather, they are actively occupied in a multi-sensory, embodied experience. It delves into what tourists are looking for when they travel, be they on a package tour, or immersing themselves in the places, cultures and lifestyles of the exotic. Tourism is examined through a consideration of the spaces and selves of travel, exploring the cultures of meaning, mobilities and engagement that frame and define the tourist experience and traveler identities. This book draws on the explanatory traditions of sociology, human geography and tourism studies to provide useful insights into the experiential and the lived dimensions of tourism and travel.
