Achieving Global Sustainability and Real ProsperityIn this program, Hazel Henderson discusses with Frank Dixon, MBA, author of Global System Change, the massive transition now underway to innovate and build societies powered by renewable energy and resources. All are based on more cooperative sharing models. This transition management is driven by paradigms beyond traditional economics, based on new understanding of human behavior and the integrated science of Earth systems. This new knowledge is seeping into financial models, steering investments to more sustainable production, and promoting ecosystem regeneration. Transition management methods require redefining growth and prosperity and reshaping our political systems, mass media and lifestyles. These changes are underway at every level-from individuals and communities to nations, corporations and international organizations.
GatherGather is an intimate portrait of the growing movement amongst Native Americans to reclaim their spiritual, political and cultural identities through food sovereignty, while battling the trauma of centuries of genocide. Gather follows Nephi Craig, a chef from the White Mountain Apache Nation (Arizona), opening an indigenous café as a nutritional recovery clinic; Elsie Dubray, a young scientist from the Cheyenne River Sioux Nation (South Dakota), conducting landmark studies on bison; and the Ancestral Guard, a group of environmental activists from the Yurok Nation (Northern California), trying to save the Klamath river
Greenwashing : the secret that some 'eco-friendly' brands don't want you to know videoDo you ever see companies using terms like "sustainable" or "eco-friendly?" It could be a clue that they are doing something called greenwashing. That's when an organization, product label or even an individual misleads consumers about their environmental practices or benefits of a product. And they usually do this to get people who care about the environment to spend their money on them.
I am GretaThe story of teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg is told through compelling, never-before-seen footage in this intimate documentary from Swedish director Nathan Grossman. Starting with her one-person school strike for climate action outside the Swedish Parliament, Grossman follows Greta -- a shy student with Asperger's -- in her rise to prominence and her galvanizing global impact as she sparks school strikes around the world. The film culminates with her extraordinary wind-powered voyage across the Atlantic Ocean to speak at the UN Climate Action Summit in New York City.
Sustainable Food Product DesignSustainability has become a major focus of food scientists around the world. This program introduces the producers who are dedicated to providing the best for both consumers and the environment in packaged and processed foods. The video takes students through each stage of the food design process, identifying some of the key elements that should be considered when looking at sustainable product design. Topics include nutritious meals, sustainable ingredients, eco-friendly packaging, eating local, seasonal, and organic food, and more.
Suzuki Diaries: Sustainability in ActionThe Suzuki Diaries is a road trip, a travelogue, an adventure. The legendary David Suzuki and his youngest daughter Sarika, a university student about to start her own career in the sciences, are full of hope as they travel to Europe to see what sustainability truly looks like. In Germany, Denmark, France and Spain, they set out to meet the people working to restore the equilibrium between human needs and planetary limits. They find a renewable energy expert, a biodynamic farmer and writer, a blogging bike enthusiast, two meticulous industrial designers, and a political powerhouse in the green movement. What they discover is that sustainability can be built into the fabric of contemporary life, not just by environmentalists but by anyone, across the full spectrum of society. The idea, innovations and inspiring individuals David and Sarika encounter prove that sustainability does not mean sacrificing quality of life. The Suzuki Diaries illustrates what is truly possible if humans have the will.
Streaming Video Collections
Criterion-on-Demand(Multidisciplinary) This collection has more than 2,600 major motion pictures (largely Hollywood films) and more than 100 documentary features. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
Curio.ca(Multidisciplinary) This collection gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos(Business) In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trades VideosThis collection of online videos includes a variety of subjects related to Technology and Trades, including: Agriculture, Automotive Technology, Building & Technical Trades, Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Technical Communication.
NFB(Multidisciplinary) Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
TVO TodayAs an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Education and a not-for-profit social impact charity, TVO believes in the importance of equitable education. We seek to represent the voices of communities across the entire province. To do this well, diversity, equity and inclusion are at the core of what we do every day.
Learning Commons
