← BACK TO LEARNING COMMONS PAGE
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
Learning Commons
AskAway service is open:
Monday to Thursday: 10:00 am to 10:00 pm
Friday: 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Saturday: 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am to 10:00 pm
Primarily, materials are located in the library shelves at these call number ranges:
| Call Number | Subject Heading |
|---|---|
| GE 1 - 350 | Environmental Sciences |
| GE 70 - 90 | Environmental Education |
| GE 170 - 190 | Environmental Policy |
| GE 195 - 199 | Environmentalism. Green Movement |
| GE 300 - 350 |
Environmental Management |
| HC 79 | Economic History and Conditions -- Special Topics including Air Pollution |
| HD 28 - 70 | Management. Industrial Management |
| HD 60 - 60.5 | Social Responsibility of Business |
Agrotopias
In this book, Abby L. Goode reveals the foundations of American environmentalism and the enduring partnership between racism, eugenics, and agrarian ideals in the United States. Throughout the nineteenth century, writers as diverse as Martin Delany, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, and Walt Whitman worried about unsustainable conditions such as population growth and plantation slavery. In response, they imagined agrotopias--sustainable societies unaffected by the nation's agricultural and population crises--elsewhere. Though seemingly progressive, these agrotopian visions depicted selective breeding and racial "improvement" as the path to environmental stability. In this fascinating study, Goode uncovers an early sustainability rhetoric interested in shaping, just as much as sustaining, the American population. Showing how ideas about race and reproduction were central to early sustainability thinking, Goode unearths an alternative environmental archive that ranges from gothic novels to Black nationalist manifestos, from Waco, Texas, to the West Indies, from city tenements to White House kitchen gardens. Exposing the eugenic foundations of some of our most well-regarded environmental traditions, this book compels us to reexamine the benevolence of American environmental thought.
Ai for the Sustainable Development Goals
What is artificial intelligence? What are the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)? How does AI affect the SDGs? Artificial Intelligence has a real impact on our lives and on our environment, and the Sustainable Development Goals enable us to evaluate these impacts in a systematic manner. This book shows that doing so requires us to understand the context of AI - the infrastructure it is built on, who develops it, who owns it, who has access to it, who uses it, and what it is used for - rather than relying on an isolationist theory of technology. By doing so, we can analyze not only the direct effects of AI on sustainability, but also the indirect - or second-order - effects. AI for the Sustainable Development Goals shows how AI potentially affects all SDGs - both positively and negatively.
The Circular Economy
A Circular Economy seeks to rebuild capital, whether this is financial, manufactured, human, social or natural, and offers opportunities and solutions for all organisations. This book, written by Walter Stahel, who is widely recognised as one of the key people who formulated the concept of the Circular Economy, is the perfect introduction for anyone wanting to quickly get up to speed with this vitally important topic for ensuring sustainable development. It sets out a new framework that refines the concept of a Circular Economy and how it can be applied at industrial levels. This concise book presents the key themes for busy managers and policymakers and some of the newest thinking on the topic of the Circular Economy from one of the leading thinkers in the field. Practical examples and case studies with real-life data are used to elucidate the ideas presented within the book.
Doughnut Economics
A Financial Times "Best Book of 2017: Economics" 800-CEO-Read & "Best Business Book of 2017: Current Events & Public Affairs" Economics is the mother tongue of public policy. It dominates our decision-making for the future, guides multi-billion-dollar investments, and shapes our responses to climate change, inequality, and other environmental and social challenges that define our times. Pity then, or more like disaster, that its fundamental ideas are centuries out of date yet are still taught in college courses worldwide and still used to address critical issues in government and business alike. That's why it is time, says renegade economist Kate Raworth, to revise our economic thinking for the 21st century. In Doughnut Economics, she sets out seven key ways to fundamentally reframe our understanding of what economics is and does. Along the way, she points out how we can break our addiction to growth; redesign money, finance, and business to be in service to people; and create economies that are regenerative and distributive by design. Named after the now-iconic "doughnut" image that Raworth first drew to depict a sweet spot of human prosperity (an image that appealed to the Occupy Movement, the United Nations, eco-activists, and business leaders alike), Doughnut Economics offers a radically new compass for guiding global development, government policy, and corporate strategy, and sets new standards for what economic success looks like. Raworth handpicks the best emergent ideas--from ecological, behavioral, feminist, and institutional economics to complexity thinking and Earth-systems science--to address this question: How can we turn economies that need to grow, whether or not they make us thrive, into economies that make us thrive, whether or not they grow? Simple, playful, and eloquent, Doughnut Economics offers game-changing analysis and inspiration for a new generation of economic thinkers.
Management for Sustainable Development
Today, increasingly more, the word sustainability is present in all kinds of discussions: at home, at work, at school, in all society. Conscious of the environment where we live everybody looks to find the best solutions to solve problems that result from Human Being evolution. Management for a sustainable development appears as a process from which organizations try to use all its resources, as well as improve its organizational and technological development, in order to answer not only to the present but also to future human and social needs. Only in this way is it possible to improve the quality of life. Seen in this way, sustainable development is understood to be people centred. We have a special concern with cultural, social and economic dimensions, where individuals can develop, together as a society, whilst at the same time individual and organizational activities can be implemented without destroying the present diversity and complexity of the ecological system where we live.Taking into account these concerns, this book looks to cover issues related to the management for sustainable development in a context where organizations are continually facing high challenges for what concerns the items related to, amongst others, the re-use, recycling, waste reduction, add value, low costs and time of production, sustainable behaviour, not only in an environmental perspective but also in an organizational perspective. Today's organizations can no longer develop their practices based in the existent paradigms. On the contrary, it is necessary to completely break from these paradigms, creating a total change of mentality in the way we manage the organizational activities. Taking into account this reality, managing for a sustainable development appears as a management philosophy focused in productivity improvement considering different kinds of goals, such as biological, economic and social systems goals. Conscious of this reality, this book contributes to the exchange of experiences and perspectives about the state of research related to the management for a sustainable development, as well as the future direction of this research field. It looks to provide a support to academics and researchers, as well as those operating in the management field and who need to deal with policies and strategies related to sustainable development issues.
Modeling for Sustainable Development: a Multidisciplinary Approach
Sustainable development is a highly integrated concept that encompasses many disciplines such as economics, social sciences, culture, technologies, natural resources, and environmental domains, while achieving sustainable development is a comprehensive multidisciplinary process involving coordination and function. Through research and teaching, the transdisciplinary science of sustainability is a fundamental part of this approach. This book offers approaches to develop a transdisciplinary perspective that encompasses the natural, social, and human sciences in the search for a sustainable society.
Principles of Sustainability
This new volume provides students and researchers with a solid foundation to the study of sustainability. Whether students want to know how to live or work more sustainably, or want to know more about the ecology of sustainability, or want to learn more about the economics or politics involved with sustainability, this is the resource to turn to. Over 100 easy-to-understand entries provide readers with a solid understanding of the ecology, economics, politics and culture of sustainability. Coverage includes: Sustainable Cities Green Building Sustainable Agriculture Sustainable Architecture Green Technologies Renewable Energy Natural Resource Management Wetland Management City Planning Urban Ecology Community Health Human Ecology Eco-Tourism ... and so much more This volume provides readers with the necessary information to learn about and fully understand the major concepts, environmental concerns, and politics surrounding sustainability. This volume will be a welcome addition to high school and undergraduate libraries and environmental science collections of all sizes.
Sustainability: What it is and how to measure it
Sustainability: What It Is and How to Measure It begins with a succinct business-focused summary of how to think about the risks and opportunities associated with sustainability. The author then includes his proprietary framework, The Corporate Sustainability ScorecardTM C-suite rating system, including the over 140 key sustainability indicators that are used to rate an organization's sustainability efforts. Each KSI includes examples from organizations around the world, giving the reader a complete and unbiased understanding of all aspects of sustainability. The Scorecard has been developed over the past 20 years and used by more than 70 corporations to rate themselves on sustainability. Gilbert S. Hedstrom illustrates the use of the Scorecard with hundreds of examples. He discusses sustainability transformation, governance, and strategy and execution. Social responsibility and environmental stewardship form important parts of his discourse in this important contribution to the debate on sustainability that will benefit business executives and those interested in sustainability and business. Read the author's related article on the NACD blog here: https://blog.nacdonline.org/posts/pge-lessons-oversight
UNESCO Biosphere Reserves
UNESCO Biosphere Reserves (BRs) are designated areas in geographical regions of global socio-ecological significance. This definitive book shows their global relevance and contribution to environmental protection, biocultural diversity and education. Initiated in the 1970s as part of UNESCO's Man and Biosphere (MAB) Programme, BRs share a set of common objectives, to support and demonstrate a balance between biodiversity conservation, sustainable development and research. The world's 701 BRs form an international, intergovernmental network to support the aims of sustainability science, but this purpose has not always been widely understood. In three distinct sections, the book starts by outlining the origins of BRs and the MAB Programme, showing how they contribute to advancing sustainable development. The second section documents the evolution of BRs around the world, including case studies from each of the five UNESCO world regions. Each case study demonstrates how conservation, sustainable development and the role of scientific research have been interpreted locally. The book concludes by discussing thematic lessons to help understand the challenges and opportunities associated with sustainability science, providing a unique platform from which lessons can be learned. This includes how concepts become actions on the ground and how ideas can be taken up across sites at differing scales. This book will be of great interest to professionals engaged in conservation and sustainable development, NGOs, policy-makers and advanced students in environmental management, ecology, sustainability science, environmental anthropology and geography.
The Business Guide to Sustainability
The Business Guide to Sustainability is a practical introduction to implementing a comprehensive sustainability strategy in any organization. Written by top business consultants, this useful book can be applied in both large and small enterprises. This edition shifts away from a discussion of CSR to focus more squarely on sustainability. It explores strategies for implementing sustainability in each of the functional areas of the corporation (accounting, HR, operations, etc.), while providing examples from a range of sectors, including manufacturing, services, and government. The book also includes the authors' S-CORE assessment tool to help organizations determine whether they are on the right track, identify new opportunities, and assign accountability and responsibility. Brimming with interesting stories and examples, and covering new developments such as the emergence of BRICs and the effects of the Great Recession, this book will interest managers, business owners, and students for whom sustainability is a priority.
Dictionary of Sustainability
The Dictionary of Sustainability provides clear and accurate definitions of the extensive vocabulary that has developed in this emerging and interdisciplinary field, saving considerable time from searching through the massive quantity of information of differing degrees of quality that is available through the Internet. Providing authoritative definitions of standard terms used by scholars and practitioners it provides a clear and thorough conceptual framework and ensures those delving into topics for the first time, or returning to them, can quickly find what they need. It also contains careful use of cross-references, and includes several expanded entries to provide readers with nuanced understanding of important topics. The dictionary will be essential reading for all students studying sustainability topics, as well as a handy reference for practitioners wanting to make a sustainable difference in the workplace. 　
The Earth's Blanket
Renowned ethnobotanist Nancy Turner distills in this volume her decades of experience working with First Nations in the Pacific Northwest. The Earth's Blanket explores the wealth of ecological knowledge and the deep personal connection to the land and its history that is encoded in indigenous stories and lifeways, and what they may be able to teach all of us about living in harmony with our surroundings. Scholarly in its thinking but accessible in its writing, The Earth's Blanket combines first-person research with insightful critiques of Western concepts of environmental management and scientific ecology to propose how systems of traditional ecological knowledge can be recognized and enhanced. It is an important book, a magnum opus, with the power to transform our way of thinking about the Earth and our place within it.
Leadership for Sustainability
Those who advocate moving towards sustainability debate how change can be achieved. This book focuses on what it means to take up leadership for sustainability, from a variety of organizational and social positions, and considers the consequences of different strategies and practices for influencing change.
Making Sustainability Work
The best practices in corporate sustainability performance are no longer the exclusive domain of companies like Ben & Jerry's or The Body Shop, as they were a decade ago; now, large, multinational companies like G.E. and Wal-Mart are leading the way with significant financial and organizational commitments to social and environmental issues. However, good intentions aren't enough. Whether motivated by concern for society and the environment, government regulation, stakeholder pressures, or economic profit, managers and strategists need to continue making significant changes to more effectively manage their social, economic, and environmental impacts - and to remain competitive. The guidance they need to do that is in this book. Marc Epstein and Adriana Rejc Buhovac have produced the ultimate "how-to-do-it" guide for corporate leaders, strategists, academics, sustainability consultants, and anyone else with an interest in actually making sustainability work for organizations. With a growing number of corporate leaders asking for urgent help in "getting this done," the timing of the updated edition of this landmark book could not be better. Accompanying Teaching Notes are available on request with the purchase of this book.
Original Instructions
Indigenous leaders and other visionaries suggest solutions to today's global crisis. Original Instructions are ancient ways of living from the heart of humanity within the heart of nature. Explores the convergence of indigenous and contemporary science and the re-indigenization of the world's peoples. Includes authoritative indigenous voices, including John Mohawk and Winona LaDuke. For millennia the world's indigenous peoples have acted as guardians of the web of life for the next seven generations. They've successfully managed complex reciprocal relationships between biological and cultural diversity. Awareness of indigenous knowledge is reemerging at the eleventh hour to help avert global ecological and social collapse. Indigenous cultural wisdom shows us how to live in peace--with the earth and one another. Original Instructions evokes the rich indigenous storytelling tradition in this collection of presentations gathered from the annual Bioneers conference. It depicts how the world's native leaders and scholars are safeguarding the original instructions, reminding us about gratitude, kinship, and a reverence for community and creation. Included are more than 20 contemporary indigenous leaders--such as Chief Oren Lyons, John Mohawk, Winona LaDuke, and John Trudell. These beautiful, wise voices remind us where hope lies.
The Sustainability Handbook
The Sustainability Handbook covers all the challenges, complexities and benefits of sustainability for businesses, governments and other organizations. It provides a blueprint for how organizations can reach or exceed economic, social and environmental excellence. It offers a host of practical approaches and tools including a model sustainability policy for organizations, summaries of sustainability codes and tips on selecting them, an extensive collection of metrics and a wealth of supplementary reference material. This is the essential reference for every organization in pursuit of sustainability.
