B.C. Open Textbook CollectionThe B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms.
All materials are openly licensed. This means they are free to use, customize, and share.
BCcampus' OER by Discipline DirectoryThe BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. (Note that textbooks in the B.C. Open Collection are not included in this directory.)
Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
OPEN - DOAJ is a vital part of the global open access infrastructure.
GLOBAL – DOAJ is a global community, with team members, ambassadors and volunteers based in 45 countries around the world, speaking 36 languages.
TRUSTED – Globally, DOAJ's criteria have become a gold standard for open access publishing.
eCampusOntario Open LibraryThe eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 1,600 free and openly-licensed educational resources. The library was launched in 2017 in partnership with BCcampus. Since the initial launch, eCampusOntario has sought to continually improve the library to meet the needs of Ontario’s postsecondary educators and learners. Thanks to the Open Publishing Infrastructure Project, a joint effort between eCampusOntario, and Ryerson University, the library is now integrated with publishing infrastructure, allowing for the easy creation or adaption of OER. eCampusOntario has also supported enhancements to the PressbooksEDU platform, including the integration of H5P interactive content, version tracking, and cloning support.
LibreTextsLibreTexts is the adaptable, user-friendly open education resource platform that educators trust for creating, customizing, and sharing accessible, interactive textbooks, adaptive homework, and ancillary materials. We collaborate with individuals and organizations to champion open education initiatives, support institutional publishing programs, drive curriculum development projects, and more.
McMaster's OER by Discipline GuideThe OER by Discipline Guide: McMaster University is an in-progress (open creation) that lists a broad range of open educational resources organized by disciplines at McMaster University.
MERLOTThis collection contains over 98,000 discipline-specific, peer-reviewed free learning materials. Materials are categorized in 22 different types, including assessment tools, quizzes, open textbooks and presentations.
OER CommonsA growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER, including open textbooks
OpenStaxOpenStax is an educational nonprofit initiative of Rice University. We are the world's largest publisher of free, open education resources (OER). Trusted by 70% of US colleges and universities, OpenStax saved students $2.9 billion in education costs since 2012. All of this important work serves our commitment to building a future where each and every student has access to the tools they need to achieve their educational dreams.
Open Textbook LibraryOpen textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Now offering 1496 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.
UBC OER CollectionThis is a curated database of openly accessible and reusable courses, modules, textbooks, lesson plans, presentations, tests, animations, and other teaching and learning materials created by UBC faculty and other instructors, students, and staff.
Learning Commons
