Research Guides: Indigenous Studies: Videos

Streaming Videos

Tells the stories of children who attended early Canadian residential schools. The year is 1898. There were fifty-four residential schools nationswide. Churches were given complete control over Native education on reserves across Canada. Move ahead to 1920 when the Indian Act made it mandatory for all Aboriginal children to attend these schools. Day schools were thought not to be effective since the children could still have contact with their families. It is estimated that over 100,000 Aboriginal children attended residential schools in Canada. Travel to Cranbrook, B.C. with the Baptiste family (Osoyoos Indian Band) as they revisit the school, that was their living nightmare, and changed their lives forever. This is a moving tribute to the courage of all the families who survived the trauma of Canada's hidden shame.

Beyond 94: Truth and Reconciliation in Canada In March 2018, CBC News launched Beyond 94, a website that monitors progress on the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s 94 Calls to Action. Beyond 94 was the result of a year’s worth of research and interviews with survivors, stakeholders and all levels of government. While the content is continually updated, in September 2021, CBC reviewed the progress status of each of the 94 calls to action. The site provides up-to-date status reports on each call to action, as well as extensive summaries explaining those status reports. It includes in-depth features and short video documentaries that tell some of the community stories behind the calls to action. It also features residential school survivors sharing their experiences.
Indigenous Traditions: The New Way Forward Indigenous communities have been disciplined at keeping their traditional knowledge and practices alive. It’s something that non-Indigenous people can learn from. Whether it's maintaining the land, using herbs and flowers as medicines in Saskatchewan, or fighting forest fires and climate change in B.C., Indigenous people are demonstrating that the old ways are sometimes the best, and should be preserved.
Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World "This revelatory documentary brings to light the profound and overlooked influence of Indigenous people on popular music in North America. Focusing on music icons like Link Wray, Jimi Hendrix, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Taboo (The Black Eyed Peas), Charley Patton, Mildred Bailey, Jesse Ed Davis, Robbie Robertson, and Randy Castillo, RUMBLE: The Indians Who Rocked the World shows how these pioneering Native American musicians helped shape the soundtracks of our lives. The idea for RUMBLE came about when guitarist Stevie Salas, an Apache Indian and one of the film's Executive Producers, realized that no one outside of the music business knew about the profound contribution of these Native musicians. Renewed attention to this missing chapter in the history of American music led to the publishing of Brian Wright-McLeod's The Encyclopedia of Native Music, an exhibit at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian, and eventually this documentary." -- Container
Susap: Keeper of Knowledge Take a glimpse into the life of Robert Louie Sr (Yaqan Nukiy Hereditary Chief and Culture Carrier). This is a great opportunity for staff and families to learn about the residential school experience as well as some of the racism experienced by our people in the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s and even today. The movie shares the spirit of the Yaqan Nuki (Ktunaxa) culture that has sustained Robert throughout his life.

DVD

Highway of Tears "'Highway of Tears' is about the missing or murdered women along a 724 kilometer stretch of highway in northern British Columbia. None of the 18 cold-cases since the 1960's had been solved, until project E-Pana (a special division of the RCMP) managed to link DNA to Portland drifter, Bobby Jack Fowler with the 1974 murder of 16 year-old hitchhiker, Colleen MacMillen. In Canada, over 600 Aboriginal women have been reported missing or been murdered since the 1960s. Viewers will discover what the effects of generational poverty, residential schools, systemic violence, and high unemployment rates have done to First Nations reserves and how they tie in with the missing and murdered women in the Highway of Tears cases. Aboriginal women are considered abject victims of violence. Now find out what First Nations leaders are doing to try and swing the pendulum in the other direction."--highwayoftearsfilm.com.
Call Number: Reserves

Streaming Video Collections

Criterion-on-Demand (Multidisciplinary) This collection has more than 2,600 major motion pictures (largely Hollywood films) and more than 100 documentary features. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
Curio.ca (Multidisciplinary) This collection gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos (Business) In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trades Videos This collection of online videos includes a variety of subjects related to Technology and Trades, including: Agriculture, Automotive Technology, Building & Technical Trades, Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Technical Communication.
NFB (Multidisciplinary) Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
TVO Today As an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Education and a not-for-profit social impact charity, TVO believes in the importance of equitable education. We seek to represent the voices of communities across the entire province. To do this well, diversity, equity and inclusion are at the core of what we do every day.

Indigenous Studies

Ktunaxa Public Video Library

Subject Liaison Contact

AskAway (Online Research Help)

Streaming Videos

DVD

Streaming Video Collections