Research Guides: Carpentry: Videos

Streaming Videos

Floor and Wall Contruction Explores both wood and steel construction including framing, layout, stud walls, joists, sheathing, girders, trusses, decking, reinforced concrete, and more. Shows subfloor, floor, and framework.
Interior Doors, Frame, and Trim This video highlights the methods and materials for installing doors, fitting trim around openings, and fitting trim at intersections of walls, floors, and ceilings. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. Correlates to the Competencies and Objectives of the National Center for Construction Education & Research.
Residential Roof Framing Residential Roof Framing is a nine-minute video which is part of the series, Residential Carpentry Framing.Finally, a step-by-step "how-to" series of videos that will show your students how to build. Whether working with floor, wall, ceiling, or roof framing, viewers get a first-hand look at construction procedures, safety issues, and proper tools. A clear explanation of each step provides in-depth information while viewers watch actual carpenters do the work. "Notes" are given throughout offering tips and safety warnings. Carpenters carefully review the plans for layout, materials, and any variations. Starting with floor framing and using the platform method, carpenters place sills and check the foundation to make sure it's level. Students see how girders and joists are installed and how spacing marks are made and transferred. Construction terms are used throughout as specific steps are demonstrated.

Streaming Video Collections

Criterion-on-Demand (Multidisciplinary) This collection has more than 2,600 major motion pictures (largely Hollywood films) and more than 100 documentary features. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
Curio.ca (Multidisciplinary) This collection gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos (Business) In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trades Videos This collection of online videos includes a variety of subjects related to Technology and Trades, including: Agriculture, Automotive Technology, Building & Technical Trades, Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Technical Communication.
NFB (Multidisciplinary) Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
TVO Today As an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Education and a not-for-profit social impact charity, TVO believes in the importance of equitable education. We seek to represent the voices of communities across the entire province. To do this well, diversity, equity and inclusion are at the core of what we do every day.

Carpentry

Subject Guide Contact

AskAway (Online Research Help)

Streaming Videos

Streaming Video Collections