Research Guides: Health Care Assistant: Elder Abuse

Featured Print Books

Elder abuse and neglect : causes, diagnosis, and intervention strategies In this new edition of their classic volume, Quinn and Tomita present their model of detection, assessment, and intervention for elder abuse and neglect.
Call Number: HV 6626.3 .Q56 1997
Principles, procedures and protocols for elder abuse
Call Number: HV 6626 .P756 1992

Featured eBooks

Elder Abuse Detection and Intervention PRESERVING A LIFE OF PEACE AND DIGNITY FOR THE AGINGThis ground-breaking volume offers a new, collaborative approach geared to enhance case review, improve victim safety, raise abuser accountability, and promote system change.Sharing the common goal of promoting elder victim safety, experts in adult protective services, law enforcement, prosecution, health care, advocacy, and civil justice have formed a unique, multidisciplinary team approach to tackle the following critical topics:Establishing a collaborative description of elder abuse historyIdentifying the criteria for the reporting of casesAccessing the intervention systems involvedHighlighting benefits and obstacles to successReviewing policy, legislation, research, and social changeAs the aging population continues to grow, so does the potential for increasing cases of elder abuse. Replete with case examples that allow the experiences of victims to speak for themselves, this book provides the framework to begin, and to build on, collaborative approaches at the local, state, and national levels toward ending elder abuse.
Call Number: ebook
Elder Abuse Work
Call Number: ebook

EBSCO eBook Collections
Full-text electronic books on subjects such as history, languages, sociology, economics, computer science, psychology, nursing and religion. Your Library subscribes to this collection and it is updated frequently. Check back often for new titles!

Websites

Elder Abuse--It's Time to Face the Reality (Seniors Canada)
Canadian Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse
Elder Abuse is Wrong Department of Justice
Provincial and Territorial Resources on Elder Abuse
Elder Abuse Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Videos

Elder abuse and neglect : show you care. DVD Elder abuse or neglect is a common problem you are likely to encounter in health care. It is estimated that hundreds of thousands of elders are abused at home and in institutions each year. Often, a shroud of secrecy surrounds those involved. Many times victims remain unnoticed and untreated, because they are isolated. Learn how to recognize and respond to mistreatment, abuse and neglect of elders.
Call Number: HV 6626.3 .E54 2007

Streaming Video Collections

Criterion-on-Demand (Multidisciplinary) This collection has more than 2,600 major motion pictures (largely Hollywood films) and more than 100 documentary features. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
Curio.ca (Multidisciplinary) This collection gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. You'll find documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more — all available with a single subscription!
Films on Demand: Business & Economics Videos (Business) In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Films on Demand: Technical & Trades Videos This collection of online videos includes a variety of subjects related to Technology and Trades, including: Agriculture, Automotive Technology, Building & Technical Trades, Engineering Technology, Information Technology, and Technical Communication.
NFB (Multidisciplinary) Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.

Health Care Assistant

Books in REFERENCE Collection

AskAway (Online Research Help)

Featured Print Books

Featured eBooks

Websites

Videos

Streaming Video Collections