This is the "Introduction" page of the "Using SEARCH ALL" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Using SEARCH ALL   Tags: discovery_service, eds, mobile_searches, search_all, search_library  

A guide to the Library's search engine.
Last Updated: May 16, 2016 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/searchall Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide has been developed as an introduction to the new "Search All"  library search engine.

The library purchases or licenses a number of products including e-books and databases from several companies.  The new library search engine is the next generation in unified library holdings search engines offering many advantages to users.

 

When should I use Search All?

This discovery service is a great place to start your research.  It helps you quickly  find relevant resources on a subject, without having to decide which database(s) to search.  The facets allow you to limit your search results in a variety of ways, including

  • date range
  • source type
  • subject
  • scholarly designation

The library's catalogued resources are also integrated into the search results.

 

What is the Search ALL search engine?

The "Search All" option provides a single, unified search box for searching the Library's information resources, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, internet documents, research reports, and much more.  Features of the service include:

  • Single, simple entry point for searching many databases at once, including the COTR Catalogue
  • Pre-indexing of a vast quantity of metadata ensures immediate search results
  • Detailed metadata (e.g., author-supplied abstracts,keywords, subjects)
  • Indexing for thousands of journals from publishers such as Sage, Elsevier, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, Oxford, and Cambridge
  • Complete library catalogue loaded directly into EDS, with real-time availability checks and daily updates
  • Ability to limit searches by date, source type, subject, content provider, full text availability, scholarly designation and more
  • Powerful, user-friendly interface based on the familiar EBSCOhost platform
 

Search All

Find books, eBooks, videos, articles, and more...

Advanced Search |  Search Help

Find books and media (CDs, DVDs and more). Use the 'Search All' tab for a complete list of e-books.


Keyword Title Author Subject

Advanced Search |  My Account

Find a database containing articles, images, videos and more by subject or select database by title.



 

Search for journals (print or electronic) by:


To find articles on topic, use the Search All tab

Find resources, tips, and tools to help with your research all in one place!

Choose by Subject:

Research Guides' Homepage...

Subject Liaison

Profile Image
Sue Morin
Contact Info
250-489-2751 x.3501
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip