Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Research Guides - Shane Neifer

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Shane Neifer

Guides

Academic Honesty & Integrity, and Avoiding Plagiarism
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 13, 2016
This guide presents a wide range of information and resources regarding academic integrity & honesty, fostering sound academic ethics, and avoiding plagiarism.
Tags: academic_honesty, avoid_plagiarism, misconduct_policy, plagiarism, research paper
Anthropology
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
This guide provides an overview of the key library and Internet resources for students and faculty studying and researching in Anthropology.
Tags: anthropologist, anthropology, cultural, culture, ethnic, folklore, people, society
APA Citation Style
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
This guide will help you with formatting your citations according to the APA guidelines.
Tags: academic_honesty, american_psychological_association, apa, avoid_plagiarism, citation, in-text, references, sources
Astronomy
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
A guide to Astronomy resources (print, electronic, and Internet) at the College Library.
Tags: astronomy, astrophysics, atmosphere, biophysics, climate, condensed_matter, cosmology, geobiochemistry, physics, reference
Biology
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 22, 2016
This guide is designed to provide access to a host of information resources concerning the field of Biology.
Tags: biology, cell, ecology, environment, genetics, organism
Canadian History
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Jan 20, 2017
This guide consolidates many resources, tools, and information on a wide variety of topics for Canadian History: Women's History, Pre- & Post-Confederation History, etc.
Tags: canadian_history, history_canada, post_confederation, pre-confederation
Certified Dental Assistant
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
This guide will help students with Dental Assistant research in the COTR Library collection and on the Internet.
Tags: dental, dental_assisting, dental_diseases, dental_hygiene, dentist, dentistry, health, oral, teeth, tooth
Chemistry
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Feb 16, 2017
This guide covers a wide range of information resources and tools for Chemistry research.
Tags: atoms, chemical_properties, chemical_safety, chemistry, molecules, physical_properties, reactions, spectra, syntheses
Chicago Manual of Style
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 12, 2016
This guide will help you with formatting your citations according to the Chicago Manual of Style guidelines.
Tags: avoid_plagiarism, chicago_style, citation, citing, endnote, in-text, sources, works_cited
Citation
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 12, 2016
Tags: citation, references, referencing
Criminal and Social Justice
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Jan 13, 2017
This guide will direct you to background information, books, journals, and other resources for topics in criminology, criminal and deviant behaviour, and law.
Tags: corrections, crime, criminology, deviant_behaviour, investigation, justice, law, police, social_justice
CSE Style Guide
by Lynn Hughes, Shane Neifer, Cortney Newton - Last Updated Nov 2, 2016
Citation style guilde i based on the Scientifitc Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers, 8th edition.
Tags: academic_honesty, avoid_plagiarism, citation, citations, citing, council_of_science_editors, csc_style, in-text, reference, sources
English & Literature
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Feb 14, 2017
Guide to resources at the College Library (print and electronic) for students studying English literature, fiction, prose, sports writing, travel writing, and more.
Tags: comprehension, edit, english, grammar, literature, read, vocabulary, write
Environmental Studies
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
A guide to multidisciplinary information sources that relate to environmental studies and are available at COTR Library and on the Internet.
Tags: biodiversity, climate change, ecology, environment, environmental_science, policy, pollution, sustainability
Find Background Information & Resources
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Jan 27, 2017
Guide to encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs: Excellent sources of background information on your topic.
Tags: almanac, dictionary, encyclopedia, handbook, library_research, manual, research
Find Primary, Secondary, & Tertiary Sources
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Jan 27, 2017
Use this guide to determine what type of source to use in your research and coursework.
Tags: primary_sources, research, secondary_sources, source-type, tertiary_sources
Finding & Using Online Images
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Jan 27, 2017
Use images to support your presentations, engage your audience, and to punctuate or demonstrate your topic when writing papers and assignments. Learn where to find online images and how to use them legally and ethically.
Tags: copyright, creative_commons, digital_collections, fair_use, flickr, google_images, images, learn, online_images
Fine Arts
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Guide to resources supporting research and courses in film studies, studio foundations, creative writing, painting, drawing, and sculpture.
Tags: creative_writing, drawing, film, painting, sculpture, studio
Geography, Geology, & GIS
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Geography, Geology, and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) College of the Rockies Library resources, tools, and Internet resources for faculty and students.
Tags: earth_sciences, environment, geochemistry, geography, geology, geophysics, geoscience, gis
Google: How To Leverage the Power of Internet Searching
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Get the most from your Internet searches by learning the best strategies, tips, and tools available when using the Google search engine.
Tags: advanced_search, browsing, google, google_maps, google_scholar, image_search, internet, research, search_engine, searching
Health Care Assistant
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 16, 2016
This guide will help students research using the COTR Library collection for books, articles, and videos, and on the Internet for reliable information, all from within this one location.
Tags: aging, arthritis, cancer, dementia, disease, elder_abuse, home_support, residential_care, stroke
Information Literacy Skills Development (ILSD)
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 12, 2016
This guide introduces faculty to definitions, issues, resources, and librarian-supported workshops and instructional sessions.
Tags: assignments, curriculum_mapping, information_literacy, information_literacy_skills_development, rubrics, workshops
Kinesiology
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 16, 2016
This guide is intended to highlight library and online resources for the students in the Kinesiology program.
Tags: athletes, biomechanics, coaching, conditioning, exercise, kinesiology, physical_education, physical_fitness, sports, training
MLA Citation Style 7th edition
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Nov 3, 2016
A guide to help with formatting your citations in MLA style.
Tags: citations, citing, mla, mla_style, sources
Nursing & Health Sciences Videos
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Jan 18, 2017
This guide contains a list of nursing skills online streaming videos. For DVDs or other audiovisual materials, you can search the library catalogue or contact the Library Reference desk at reference@cotr.bc.ca or 250-489-8292 ext. 3292 for assistance.
Philosophy
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
This guide is designed to help you find all kinds of resources pertaining to philosophy. From databases, open web resources to print sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and classic texts, this guide is a great starting point.
Tags: ethics, logic, philosophy, theology
Physics
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
A general guide to physics resources at College of the Rockies.
Tags: atmosphere, physics, science
Political Science
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
This guide directs users to resources and tools (print, electronic and Internet) to support faculty, staff, and students with research in the subject area of political science.
Tags: canadian_government, chicago_style_citation, international_relations, political_studies, political_thought, politics
Practical Nursing
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 16, 2016
This guide will help students with Practical Nursing research in the Library collection and on the Internet.
Tags: health, health_care, lpn, nursing, practical_nursing
Psychology
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Nov 2, 2016
Use this guide to find resources, sources, and tools available at College of the Rockies Library to support your studies.
Tags: behaviour, comparative_psychology, developmental_psychology, psyche, psychoanalysis, psychology, study_of_the_mind, thought_process
Research Strategies
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Manage your research strategy, use databases more effectively, and understand how the library is organized -- it's all here.
Resources to Support Applied Research and Scholarship at College of the Rockies
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Feb 14, 2017
Library, online, and open access resources focused on applied and community research.
Tags: applied research, community research, inspire centre, student support
Scholarly vs Popular: Understanding the Differences
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information in all disciplines.
Tags: popular_journals, scholarly, trade_publications
Social Networking, Media, and Software
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
This guide offers links to social networking and related sites for those researchers, faculty, and students who wish to research topics on social networking and social media.
Statistics and Data
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 16, 2016
Find relevant sources to statistics and data for use in your research and to support your studies.
Tags: aboriginal_data, census, geographic_data, profiles, provincial_statistics, science_data, statistics_canada
Student Research & Innovation Poster Presentations
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Resources for students preparing poster presentations for College of the Rockies allied and community research projects and conferences.
Using WolframAlpha
by Shane Neifer - Last Updated Sep 14, 2016
Wolfram Alpha is a "computational knowledge engine" run by the Wolfram Reasearch Company. This guide offers basic tips and information on how to get the most out of this cool tool.
Tags: computational
 
 
Description

  Loading...