Use this guide to find resources, services, and sources for Faculty supporting teaching and learning at COTR.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017
Your College Librarian, Shane Neifer, is available to help faculty and staff with research.
Your Librarian can:
- assist with literature reviews
- recommend research tools and resources
- locate relevant resources to support course work
- collaborate in the design and development of assignments aligned with curriculum and learning outcomes
- develop bibliographies
- provide guidance on copyright
- develop library resources, tools, and materials for online courses
- design and create specific course Library Resource pages (Research Guides)
Please contact your Librarian, Shane Neifer
, to arrange an individual consultation.
We are happy to help you with library research for your teaching, research, and professional development needs.
If you are currently working on or will be working on such an endeavor, please schedule a face-to-face meeting with the Librarian, Shane Neifer, who will collaborate to determine the best possible materials accessible to you and your students to support your learning outcomes.
The College Library develops and maintains various online tools to support research, coursework, and studies for faculty, staff, and students.
- Library Website
The purpose of the Library website is to enhance the learning environment of the College by serving as a gateway to and catalyst for research, college studies, and community development. Therefore, the Web site supports the educational programs and the curriculum of the College through gathering, organizing, and evaluating Internet-based and licensed resources.The Website seeks to support library users as they learn how to interpret, analyze and cite information sources.
- Library Catalogue
The library collection is organized to give easy access to material. The library catalogue is an essential tool. It is an index or a key to the collection, containing an entry representing each item - print and electronic.
- Library Journal Databases
A database is a collection of information, in this case journal articles, arranged in individual records which can be searched electronically. Some journal databases also include conference papers, book chapters, reports, dissertations, books and other types of information. The Library Journal Databases are organized alphabetically with access to descriptions of content.
- Streaming Videos & National FIlm Board of Canada
The Library has a license for over 8,000 videos covering a wide variety of topics and subjects. Learn how to access these videos for use in your classes. Most video players offer you options to edit and create playlists.
- Interlibrary Loan
Outlook Online is the library catalogue for the collections of BC public and post-secondary libraries with over 7 million books, magazines and videos. Outlook Online is accessible through the Internet, 24 hours a day. Use this catalogue when you are unable to find what you are looking for in the College of the Rockies Library catalogue.
Hundreds of high-quality eBook and audiobook titles from leading publishers, ensuring that you’ll find valuable, trusted content with every search.