This is the "Criterion-on-Demand" page of the "Videos (Streaming): Criterion-on-Demand, Curio.ca & National Film Board" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Videos (Streaming): Criterion-on-Demand, Curio.ca & National Film Board   Tags: citing, films_on_demand, national_film_board, nfb, streaming_videos  

Last Updated: Mar 16, 2017 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/videos Print Guide RSS Updates

Criterion-on-Demand Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About CoD

Criterion-on-Demand (CoD) is a streaming video database that offers feature films in a range of genres and styles from Paramount Pictures, 20th Century Fox, Fox SearchLight, MTV Films, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks Animation, Nickelodeon Films, Insurge Pictures, Troma Films, New Concorde, among others.  There are films and documentaries from as early as the 1930's through to 2015!

To access the Criterion-on-Demand database follow these steps:

  • Library homepage
  • Click 'Databases' tab on the search box
  • Click the drop down arrow next to 'Choose by Database Title' and select 'Criterion-on-Demand' and click 'Go'
  • You will be direct to CoD

From CoD you can search by title, keyword, or by genre.

You can also search using the Library's catalogue and is searchable by title, subject or keywords.

If you require assistance, please do not hesitate to contact the Reference Desk @ x. 3292 or email library@cotr.bc.ca

 

Issues with Criterion

Known Issues

There has been reports of challenges accessing videos from Criterion-on-Demand collection. These issues vary depending on the browser being used. Potential solutions to known issues are found below.

Further Assistance

If these troubleshooting tips do not address or fail to correct problems you are encountering, please do not hesitate to contact the Reference Desk x.3292 from withing the College, 250-489-8292 or email library@cotr.bc.ca. Please provide as much detail about the issue you are encountering and when it arises.

 

Browser Compatibility

When viewing Criterion with Firefox, Safari, or Internet Explorer, a current version of the Silverlight plugin is required.  It is not required when using Chrome.

Troubleshooting Tips:

  • Ensure that you are using the latest version of your chosen browser, as some older versions of browsers are not compatible (i.e. anything prior to IE 11 will not work).
  • If stream does not load, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies, and restart the browser.

  • If using Internet Explorer, please ensure that ActiveX Filtering is disabled.
 

Criterion-on-Demand (CoD) and Silverlight

Technical Details

      System requirements: High-speed Internet access is required with a minimum of 380 kbps DSL, 500 kbps cable modem connectivity.
Streaming video.

Criterion-on-Demand will not work on a mobile device.


How do I access this video collection?

      You will access this amazing online streaming video collection through the Internet.

What playback software do I need to have installed on my computer?

      You will require the most recent version of Microsoft Silverlight to play Criterion-on-Demand videos. Download Silverlight.

How do I access this video collection?

      Access is restricted to College of the Rockies faculty, staff and students.  You can access the video collection here.


Technical Support:  Follow these steps if you encounter problems with Silverlight:

  1. Please make sure your browser allows cookies. Also, clear your browser's cookies and cache - occasionally a corrupt file will cause the issue you are experiencing.

2. In your Silverlight settings under the Application Storage tab, please make sure that the 'Enable application storage' box is checked.

3. In your Silverlight settings under the Playback tab, can you please make sure the “Enable download and updates to components required for protected content playback” box is checked.

Occasionally users report similar issues that are caused by a bad installation of Silverlight.  If the above steps fail, please uninstall and re-install the Silverlight plugin.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip