A. Basic BookB. Two - 10 AuthorsC. More than Ten AuthorsD. Corporate AuthorE. No AuthorF. Edited BookG. Chapter in an Edited BookH. Encyclopedia ArticleI. Multi-Volume WorkJ. E-Book
A. Basic Journal ArticleB. Two - Ten AuthorsC. More than 10 authorsD. Online Article with DOIE. Online Article without a DOIF. Magazine ArticleG. Newspaper ArticleG. Newspaper Article, No Author
A. Basic Web PageB. Personal AuthorC. Corporate Author
A. Online Video Clip
A. Conference ProceedingsB. Conference PaperC. Technical ReportD. Map
This is the "H. Encyclopedia Article" page of the "CSE Style Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation style guilde i based on the Scientifitc Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers, 8th edition.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/CSE Print Guide RSS Updates

H. Encyclopedia Article Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Citing Books

When you're finding books for your research, make note of the author name(s), book title, edition, publication date, publisher, place of publication, and the pages you've referenced.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

In-Text Citation- entry that appears in the body of your paper.

Reference List- entry that appears at the end of your paper.

 

Encyclopedia Article

The general format and example below refers to an encyclopedia article.
 
To cite an encyclopedia article, include the author(s) and title of the article, as well as the editor(s) and title of the encyclopedia.
 
General Format
 
In-Text Citation:
(Author(s) date)
 
Reference List:
Author(s) AA. Title of article. Year. In: Editor(s) BB, editor(s). Title of book. Edition. Place of publication (State or Prov): Publisher name. p. page range.
 
Example
 
In-Text Citation:
(Raymer and Reese 2008)
 
Reference List:
Raymer M, Reese DJ. Hospice. 2008. In: Mizrahi T, Davis LE, editors. Encyclopedia of social work. Vol. 2. 20th ed. Washington (DC): National Association of Social Workers. p. 383-388.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip