Getting Started
A. One Author or EditorB. Two or Three Authors or EditorsC. Three or more Authors or EditorsD. Chapter or Article in a Multi-Author BookE. Chapter or Article in a Multi-Volume WorkF. Organization as AuthorG. No AuthorH. E-BookI. Reference BookJ. Edition Other than the First
A. Basic Journal ArticleB. Journal Article from an Online PeriodicalC. Journal Article from DatabaseD. Magazine ArticleE. Newspaper Article
A. Basic Web PageB. No AuthorC. Canadian Government Publication
A. Motion Picture (Video Recording)B. Online Multimedia
A. Interviews and Personal CommunicationsB. Class NotesC. Pamphlets, Brochures, and ReportsD. Scriptural ReferencesE. Secondary Sources
This is the "E. Chapter or Article in a Multi-Volume Work" page of the "Chicago Manual of Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicago Manual of Style   Tags: avoid_plagiarism, chicago_style, citation, citing, endnote, in-text, sources, works_cited  

This guide will help you with formatting your citations according to the Chicago Manual of Style guidelines.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/chicago Print Guide RSS Updates

E. Chapter or Article in a Multi-Volume Work Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Citing Books

This guide is intended to cover only the Notes and Bibliography system for citing books.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

Full Note - use the first time that you cite a source.

Concise Note - use after the first time you cite a source.

Bibliography - use when you are compiling the Bibliography that appears at the end of your paper.

Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.). 

 

Chapter or Article in a Multi-Volume Work (p. 667)

General Format 
 
       Full Note: 
            1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," in Book
      Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Volume #:page #.
 
      Concise Note: 
            2. Author Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," Volume #:page #.
 
      Bibliography:
      Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Vol. Volume #,
            Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.
  
Example
 
      Full Note:
            1. Mario Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," in Dictionary of Canadian Biography:
      1911-1920 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998), 14:359.
 
      Concise Note:
            2. Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," 14:359.
 
      Bibliography:
      Creet, Mario. "Fleming, Sir Sandford." In Vol. 14, Dictionary of Canadian Biography:
            1911-1920. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998: 359.
 

General Formatting

The CMOS footnote system uses superscript numbers. These numbers should be placed at the end of the sentence (or clause) in which the cited material appears. Use your software's formatting menu to change the number to a superscript.

CMOS footnotes and endnotes should be detailed on first references; second and later references then take a short form that uses either the author’s name and a page number or the Latin term ibid and a page number if needed.

Ask your instructor what kind of notes you should use.

  1. Footnotes are placed at the bottom of each page.
  2. Endnotes are placed at the end of the paper.

 

Word-processing software supports either approach.

CMOS lists of references should be alphabetized by the author’s surname, and can be presented as a “Bibliography” page that includes all sources you consulted, or as a “References” or “Works Cited” page that includes only the sources in your footnotes.

 Ask your instructor what your list of references should include—all the sources you consulted, or only those you cite in the paper?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip