A. One Author or EditorB. Two Authors or EditorsC. Three to Five Authors or EditorsD. Chapter in an Edited Book or TextbookE. Entry in a dictionary or encyclopediaF. No AuthorG. E-BookH. Edition other than the FirstI. TranslationJ. Government Publication
A. Journal Article with One AuthorB. Journal Article with Two AuthorsC. Journal Article with 3 - 6 AuthorsD. Journal Article with more than 7 authorsE. Magazine ArticleF. Newspaper ArticleG. Article from a DatabaseH. Google Scholar
A. Basic Web PageB. University / College WebpageC. No AuthorD. Blog postE. Online Reference EntryF. Online Government DocumentG. Document from a WebsiteH. Wikis
A. Motion PictureB. YouTube VideoC. Podcast
A. Electronic ImageB. FiguresC. Photographs and Maps
A. InterviewB. EmailC. Religious and Classical WorksD. Secondary SourcesE. Lectures / Course MaterialsF. Archival WorksG. Tweets & FacebookH. Personal Communication
Creative Commons License
This is the "G. Article from a Database" page of the "APA Citation Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide will help you with formatting your citations according to the APA guidelines.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/apa Print Guide RSS Updates

G. Article from a Database Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citing Articles

Articles are found in journals, magazines, and newspapers. However, it can be confusing to find articles because journals and magazines are also called periodicals.  During your studies you will be accessing electronic and print articles. The most difficult task when citing articles is establishing what type and format you are using.

  • Do you have an online journal article? 
  • Is it an article from a print journal?
  • Is your article from a magazine or newspaper?
  • Is it an article found in a database licensed by your library?

Journals are generally scholarly (often referred to as academic or peer-reviewed), and magazines are commonly more for general use.

 

DOIs and Article References (pp.188-192)

If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is listed on either a print or an electronic source and must be included in the reference list. A DOI is a unique alphanumeric code that identifies a certain source.   

Example: doi:87.1678/16076320414622005

The DOI is commonly found on the first page of an article. For more information on DOIs and sample pictures indicating where to locate a DOI on a source, see pages 188 to 192 of the APA Manual.

The DOI flow chart created by APA  staff is very useful. To learn more about DOIs see the tuturial video created by APA.

Free DOI Lookup

From CrossRef.org

Faqs about the DOI system from the International DOI Foundation.

 

Journal Article from an Online Database

When a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is listed on the journal article or in the database record, include it in your reference.  If no DOI, use the Free DOI Lookup  from CrossRef.org to find the article's DOI.

If you have accessed a journal article on the Internet, and if there is no DOI, then give the URL of the journal's website.

REMEMBER: EBSCHost is NOT a database.   You must locate the exact title of the database from which you are viewing or downloading the article

Reference list entry for an article retrieved from a licensed database.

Example ONE - Journal Article with a DOI

Format:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume (issue),

         page range. doi:xxxxxxxxx

Example:

Simons, M., Bernaards, C., & Slinger, J. (2012). Active gaming in Dutch adolescents: A

         descriptive study. The International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity,

         9(1), 118-128. doi:10.1186/1479-5868-9-118

If an article that has been accessed online through your library's licensed databases and does not have a DOI, then the citation ends with the URL of the journal's website, even if you actually retrieved the article through a database.

Example TWO - Journal Article without a DOI

 Howard, K. R. (2007). Childhood overweight: Parental perceptions and readiness for

          change. The Journal of School Nursing, 23, 73-79. Retrieved from

          permalink from the database

 

Learn More

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University offers an online resource which can be used in some cases.  However, it does not include everything required for citing sources in one place.

The APA citation style does not cover Canadian government sources, and has only a limited section on American government resources.

Please refer to the staff at the Library Reference Desk for clarification when citing Canadian government sources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip