A. One Author or EditorB. Two Authors or EditorsC. Three to Five Authors or EditorsD. Chapter in an Edited Book or TextbookE. Entry in a dictionary or encyclopediaF. No AuthorG. E-BookH. Edition other than the FirstI. TranslationJ. Government Publication
A. Journal Article with One AuthorB. Journal Article with Two AuthorsC. Journal Article with 3 - 6 AuthorsD. Journal Article with more than 7 authorsE. Magazine ArticleF. Newspaper ArticleG. Article from a DatabaseH. Google Scholar
A. Basic Web PageB. University / College WebpageC. No AuthorD. Blog postE. Online Reference EntryF. Online Government DocumentG. Document from a WebsiteH. Wikis
A. Motion PictureB. YouTube VideoC. Podcast
A. Electronic ImageB. FiguresC. Photographs and Maps
A. InterviewB. EmailC. Religious and Classical WorksD. Secondary SourcesE. Lectures / Course MaterialsF. Archival WorksG. Tweets & FacebookH. Personal Communication
Creative Commons License
This is the "F. Archival Works" page of the "APA Citation Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide will help you with formatting your citations according to the APA guidelines.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/apa Print Guide RSS Updates

F. Archival Works Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Citing Archival Works

Citing a primary source document, from an archives, varies depending on the preference of your instructor, the publication you are submitting the article, or the discipline in which you are operating. 

Archival sources include letters, unpublished manuscripts, limited circulation brochures and pamphlets, in-house institutional and corporate documents, clippings, photographs and any other documents that are in the personal possesion of an author, form part of an institutional collection, or are stored in an archive or repository.

 

Works from an Archival Collection

Basic Format

Author, A.A. (Year, Month, Day). Title of material. [Description of material]. Name of collection

         (Call number, Box number, File number, etc.). Name and location of repository.

Examples

Milne, A.J. (1880, December, 31). Cartoon showing Western Canada up for auction. [Photo].

         Archives collection. (Image No: NA-3055-13). Glenbow Museum, Calgary, Alberta.

Barling, E. (n.d.). Interview by J. Opie [Tape recording]. Opie, June: Interviews for a radio

         documentary on Frances Hodgkins (AG-583/008). Hocken Collections, Dunedin, N.Z.

Griffin, R. F. (1928, November 2). Report for Colonial Commission. Herbert Otto Roth Papers

         (94-106- 01/1). Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, N.Z.

Holland, A. (1914, August 9). [Letter to Stella Holland]. Patrick O’Farrell Papers

         (MS 6265/1/21). National Library of Australia, Canberra.

McCahon, C. (1948). Crucifixion [Oil on board]. (Acc: 72/73). Hocken Collections,

         Dunedin, N.Z.

Learn More

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University offers an online resource which can be used in some cases.  However, it does not include everything required for citing sources in one place.

The APA citation style does not cover Canadian government sources, and has only a limited section on American government resources.

Please refer to the staff at the Library Reference Desk for clarification when citing Canadian government sources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip