A. One Author or EditorB. Two Authors or EditorsC. Three to Five Authors or EditorsD. Chapter in an Edited Book or TextbookE. Entry in a dictionary or encyclopediaF. No AuthorG. E-BookH. Edition other than the FirstI. TranslationJ. Government Publication
A. Journal Article with One AuthorB. Journal Article with Two AuthorsC. Journal Article with 3 - 6 AuthorsD. Journal Article with more than 7 authorsE. Magazine ArticleF. Newspaper ArticleG. Article from a DatabaseH. Google Scholar
A. Basic Web PageB. University / College WebpageC. No AuthorD. Blog postE. Online Reference EntryF. Online Government DocumentG. Document from a WebsiteH. Wikis
A. Motion PictureB. YouTube VideoC. Podcast
A. Electronic ImageB. FiguresC. Photographs and Maps
A. InterviewB. EmailC. Religious and Classical WorksD. Secondary SourcesE. Lectures / Course MaterialsF. Archival WorksG. Tweets & FacebookH. Personal Communication
Creative Commons License
This is the "C. Photographs and Maps" page of the "APA Citation Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide will help you with formatting your citations according to the APA guidelines.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/apa Print Guide RSS Updates

C. Photographs and Maps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Maps and Photographs

Cite maps and photographs that are found on the web just like you would an electronic image: 

Basic Format for an Electronic Image

Author (Role of Author). (Year image was created). Title of work [Type of work], Retrieved
      Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of web site)

Basic Format for an Electronic Image (No Author) 

Title of work [Type of work]. (Year image was created). Retrieved Month Day, Year, from:
      URL (address of web site)

Basic Format for an Electronic Image (No Author, No Title, No Date)

Many images found on the Web are of this category, but you should still look for this missing information: try clicking on the image, and/or looking at the bottom of the image.

[Subject and type of work]. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from: URL (address of web site)

 

Citing Photographs and Maps

Photograph from digital archive

Unidentified soldier in Union uniform with musket, knapsack, and bedroll. (ca. 1861-1865) [Photograph]. Liljenquist family collection (DLC2010650518). Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, D.C. Retrieved from http://loc.gov/pictures/resource/ppmsca.26857/

Entire collection in digital archive

[Liljenquist Family Collection of Civil War Photographs]. (ca. 1861-1865). Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, DC. Retrieved from http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/lilj/ 

Photograph reproduced in book

Lange, D. (1936). Migrant mother, Nipomo, California [Photograph]. IDorothea LangeNew York: The Museum of Modern Art, 1966.

Photograph from Flickr

Kudzu, D. F. (2005, September 2). Hurricane Katrina, Biloxi [Photograph]. Retrieved from http://www.flickr.com/photos/deepfriedkudzu/39826948/in/set-875602

Online Map

Ukraine [Map]. (2008). Retrieved from the University of Texas at Austin

        Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection website: http://www.lib.utexas.edu/

         maps/cia08/ukraine_sm_2008.gif

Learn More

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University offers an online resource which can be used in some cases.  However, it does not include everything required for citing sources in one place.

The APA citation style does not cover Canadian government sources, and has only a limited section on American government resources.

Please refer to the staff at the Library Reference Desk for clarification when citing Canadian government sources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip