MLA Citation Tutorial
A. One AuthorB. Two to Three AuthorsC. Three or More AuthorsD. Work in an AnthologyE. Corporate AuthorF. No AuthorG. E-BookH. Entry in an Encyclopedia/DictionaryI. Edition other than the FirstJ. Introduction, Foreword, Preface, or AfterwordK. TranslationL. Government Publication
A. Basic Journal ArticleB. Journal Article from an Online PeriodicalC. Journal Article from Library DatabaseD. Magazine ArticleE. Magazine Article from DatabaseF. Newspaper ArticleG. Google ScholarH. Research Starter Articles
A. Basic Web PageB. Document from a Web siteC. No Author
A. Video or DVDB. Sound RecordingC. Musical Composition
A. Works of ArtB. Online Image
A. LectureB. Online Course Materials
A. EmailB. Indirect SourcesC. TwitterC. Speeches, Lectures or Oral Presentations
This is the "E. Magazine Article from Database" page of the "MLA Citation Style 7th edition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MLA Citation Style 7th edition   Tags: citations, citing, mla, mla_style, sources  

A guide to help with formatting your citations in MLA style.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2017 URL: http://cotr.libguides.com/mla Print Guide RSS Updates

E. Magazine Article from Database Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Citing Journal/Magazine Articles

When citing magazine or journal articles, take note of the author, article title, periodical title, volume and issue numbers, the date, and page numbers. 

Note that the citation format is slightly different if the journal is in print or online.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

Parenthetical Citation - entry that appears in the body of your paper.

Works Cited - entry that appears at the end of your paper.

Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from the MLA Handbook (7th ed.)

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.

 

Magazine Article from an Online Database (192-193)

DO NOT include Volume and Issue information in magazine article citations.
 
NOTE: there is a distinct difference between an article you are using from a COTR Library database and that from an online journal available through the Internet. If you are unsure, ask the experts at the COTR Reference Desk.
 
REMEMBER: EBSCHost is NOT a database.   You must locate the exact title of the database from which you are viewing or downloading the article.
 
 
Use this format for citing articles from online magazines retrieved from an online library database (e.g. Academic Search Complete, PsychInfo, Business Source Complete, or General OneFIle.)
 

Cite articles from online databases (e.g. ProQuest, JSTOR, ScienceDirect), providing the title of the database italicized, the medium of publication, and the date of access.

MLA format does NOT require you to include the article DOI.

 
General Format
 
In-Text Citation: 
(Author Surname page number)
 
Works Cited:
Author Surname, First Name. “Article Title: Subtitle.” Magazine Title Publication 
        
         Date [Day Month Year]: page range. Database Title. Medium. Date of 
 
         Access [Day Month Year].
 
 
Example 

In-Text Citation:
(Kohler 26)
 
Works Cited:
Kohler, Nicholas. “A Forgotten War No More.” Maclean’s 21 Nov. 2011: 26-26. 
       
         Canadian Newsstand. Web. 25 Nov. 2011.
      
 

Learn More

Learn more about the Modern Language Association style from the association website.

A clearly organized and well presented document offering details on various levels of MLA citation style. 

An alternative to College of the Rockies Library MLA Citation Style Guide

The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University offers an online resource which can be used in some cases.  However, it does not include everything required for citing sources in one place.

The MLA Style does not cover Canadian government sources, and has only a limited section on American government resources.

Please refer to the staff at the Library Reference Desk for clarification when citing Canadian government sources.

Librarians at SFU have created what is considered the definitive resource for use when citing Canadian Government documents and online resources in MLA Style.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip